Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
this was delicious. I made it for a day when I knew I would have to get dinner on the table in a hurry, boiled the eggs the day before and then threw the rest together that night. My only suggestion is to make sure that you add the milk slowly and give it a good chance to thicken. This would be just as good (probably better) for breakfast but what can I say, if it's easy and it's tasty, it's dinner in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monkton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I have been eating and making this dish for over 50 years. My mom made this every Easter, and called it "Goldenrod Eggs" because of the sprinkled yolks over the creamed egg mixture. We add a pinch of dry mustard to our version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is my favorite egg dish. Mom called it Golden Rod Eggs and it was our traditional Christmas breakfast. Now that I have my own family Goldenrod eggs are a great anytime dish. That our whole family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I have been making (and eating) Creamed Egg for years. I never thought I'd see a recipe in print - I thought it was something my Mother made up! She made lots of vatiations, using browned hamburger, or browned sausage, or creamed dried beef instead of the hard boiled eggs. The basic sauce recipe is so versitile that you could creme anything! I bet some crumbled bacon would be delicious with the eggs in this recipe. This recipe is a little different from my Mother's in that it called for Chicken Boullion. I gave it a shot and got great reviews. I made it for breakfast yesterday for my two best friends and they loved it! They wanted the recipe. I directed them to allrecipes.com! Thanks for another great recipe (one I thought my Mom was the only one who knew how to make it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is one of my go-to recipes for my husband's bad days. I made this for him when we first got together and he's still raving about it. The only thing I do different is fry up a pound of ground sausage and use the grease from the sausage, with a little butter, to make the milk gravy. Then, I don't need to add bouillion. Just a little pepper and Tabasco. Then, I add in the eggs. Really good for a hangover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was a winner in our house! Makes quite a lot and doesn't re-heat too well but otherwise, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Nice change for eggs and toast. Everyone loved them...even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was just about to add this as a recipe of mine, but I did a search first and found this. My grandma used to make this for me all the time -- the morning after I would spend the night at her house. It's hands down my favorite breakfast item! My family makes it pretty much the same way as listed here, but this honestly looks better (we use less eggs and more butter per serving -- the rest is the same). The eggs are the best part, so I find my rating to be valid, I would give my own recipe 4 stars. I like the idea another reviewer to put crumbled sausage in this. My GOSH! That would be heavenly! For those of you who are questioning whether or not to try this: it sounds a lot more weird than it really is. I have yet to make this for someone and have them not like it. This is a classic breakfast dish in my family that's been made for over 40 years! And so well loved that we've all memorized the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
A good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie1325

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I halved the recipe for two people, added a little extra milk, more than a few dashes of Louisiana hot sauce, about 1 tsp kosher salt (or 1/2 tsp regular salt) and 1/2 tsp of pepper to the gravy. So yummy! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States