Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
My mom made something similar which she called Eggs Goldenrod. Instead of chopping the whole egg, she would chop the whites and mix them into the white sauce - then pour this mixture over the toast. The yolks were grated over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
LOVE this!! I've been eating Creamed Eggs for as long as I can remember! As another reviewer, I always add peas to the mixture, and don't separate the yolks, just chop the whole egg and add it. Much easier. Never tried it with bullion before, just added my own spices. Very good recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This resipe has been in our family for 60+ years. One could modify this with anything you like. Use english muffins instead of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rabmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This has been our Easter breakfast forever (otherwise known as "Eggs Goldenrod").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Many years ago when I was in grade school, on Fridays we always had "Eggs Al a Goldenrod". I always loved it and have made it many times for my kids. They always loved it and it's also MY "go to" comfort food. We're retired now (for many years) and I still make it with leftover hardboiled eggs. I sprinkle paprika over it because it makes it look so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Like many of the reviews here, I'm shocked to see an actual recipe for this. My mom used to make this for me when I was growing up called "Eggs ala Goldenrod". I thought it was just something she made. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have been making this for 40 years, and my kids when they come home and stay for breakfast beg me to make it, so easy and soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Larson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
All these years I thought I had a special family recipe. And yet here it is. My family calls it Eggs La Goldenrod. We don't add the meat just make the gravy, add salt and pepper, chopped hard boiled egg and serve over toast. I will have to try it with meat now after seeing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is awesome. My 2 favorite foods as a kid were Creamed Chipped Beef (same sauce, dried beef instead of eggs) and Ham a La King...which is this recipe with ham (also leftover from Easter!) added in. Great for any meal of the day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great breakfast!! I used leftover bechamel sauce that is made just like the sauce in this recipe. I left out the chicken bouillon granules all together. Great breakfast at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States