Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Time-saving secret and tips: Since a child, mother patiently sturred the heating milk and flower to thicken. Forget it! All trained chefs know to heat the milk to just below a boil in microwave or on stove while preparing the white roux (flour and butter). Proportions for cream sauce are 2 tablespoons each butter and flour per cup of liquid. Cook white roux over medium heat 3 minutes stirring with a whisk. Do not brown the roux, as this will destroy the thickening potential. Add the heated liquid (milk for this recipe) all at once and whisk briskly for perfectly smooth sauce in less than a minute. I use two hard-boiled eggs per cup of sauce cut two directions in an egg slicer to stir into the sauce. Salt and fresh ground white pepper to taste Option 1 - reserve one yoke to press through tea strainer for a garnish. Add chopped fresh parsley and a dash of paprika. Option 2 - add 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder per cup of sauce. Option 3 - Serve over fresh baked buttermilk biscuits split, buttered and toasted under the broiler. (Good buttermilk biscuit recipe on this site.) Caution: Do not introduce saliva into starch sauces with the tasting spoon. Enzympes digest (break down) starches and can cause watery sauce, particularly with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
My Mum made this when I was a kid and I have never made it for my kids but will now. She always put onion (sliced in rings) in the sauce and then cut the eggs in slices and just laid them gently in the sauce before spooning over the toast. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I rated this 3 star b/c it was really bland. I added some red pepper flakes, and paprika. Made it much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jigger Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cascade, Montana, USA
Living In: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this for one. I really loved this recipe and it works fine with skim milk. I also thought that mustard would be a great addition and tried smearing a little dijon on my toast before adding the egg mixture, and it was a little too much. Way too overpowering. I will try adding a pinch of mustard powder and hot sauce as someone else mentioned. Super filling! Make sure to serve immediately - this mixture turns into plaster if you let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I didn't care for the recipe but my son liked it. I can see how this would be a favorite comfort food if you grew up with it. Its very bland and filling. I was bored with it even though I added sausage, salt and pepper. If I were to make it again I would change a few things to make it more flavorful. I would definitely add onions, garlic, paprika, and cheese on top. Plus, less sauce. I would want the eggs to be the stars but they seemed to be a filler for this recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I have had this recipe since childhood (back in the 1950's). The only thing different was serving it over broken up Saltene Crackers instead of toast. It is delicious! Easy meatless entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
For the reviewer who said it looked like something the dog threw up, instead of following the directions for the eggs in the recipe, slice them as suggested by one other reviewer, but then just put the slices on buttered toast and pour basic white sauce over all. Looks nice and taste fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wow! I had never heard of creamed eggs, boy, was I missing out! I used leftover Easter eggs to make this for breakfast. Easy, quick, delicious! Scaled recipe to 1/2 since I only had 6 eggs. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Chrissy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
i liked this. (young daughter thought cream was weird.) i halved the recipe and used 5 eggs. it was 4 generous portions. salt and pepper a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States