Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My mother used to make this also, under the name of "Eggs al a Golden Rod." She shortened the name to "Egg Goo." All 6 of us kids loved it and still do. Even my daughter loves it. Our version is to mash up the yolks and sprinkle on top of the egg gravy on the toast. My old and beat-up Better Homes and Gardens cookbook also calls this "Eggs a la Golden Rod," and instructs to put yolks on top. These similar recipes do not use the chicken bouillon, but I imagine that is a good addition. This recipe always brings back good memories and makes me hungry for this dish. A must try, if you have never had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djf2743

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I prepare the white sauce as usual. Cut up hard-boiled eggs. Steam some fresh asparagus (cut into 1-inch lengths) and add to sauce. Serve over toast as suggested. A great evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My husband credits his Mother for this recipe, and he spreads the toast with chunky peanut or almond butter then tops with the creamed eggs - sounds horrible, but try it - pretty delicious - even for me who does not care much for peanut butter. Also, curry powder is a delicious addition to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This dish was called Goldenrod Egg on Toast in my house & it was served mainly during Lent. I don't use bullion & the egg yolks are smashed real fine & sprinkled over the white sauce on the toast. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Have been eating this 65+ years, making it the past 49 years for my family and guests. Never occurred to me that this was not a staple in every household. Love it with asparagus and frequently add cut pieces of it and/or ham to the egg mixture. Never thought of the bouillon, but can see where it would offer additional flavor as well as the bacon garnish others have mentioned. The white sauce/cream sauce is a great beginning for so many great meals: hamburger over potatoes; ham and peas or mixed vegetables over biscuits; chicken or turkey over biscuits or puff pastry. Just change the ingredients and adjust the seasonings for multiple quick and delicious meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
my only problem with the recipe is the chick bullion.... your basically making a rue. I would just use chicken stock and milk to make the rue, but I like the premise of this recipe and it sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Have been making creamed eggs for years but I don't mash the yolks - I merely add sliced hard cooked eggs to a bechamel sauce and serve the entire thing over steamed asparagus on toast. What a wonderful spring luncheon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I could not believe it when I saw this recipe in print. I have been making it for over 50 years. The only thing I do not use is bouillon, and I add 1 tsp.dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
It looks real good, except whole wheat bread is better for you, and switch the bacon for any other meat or non-meat protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I have eaten and made this recipe for years. I add some fresh nutmeg, just a touch, and I do not add the yolk to the white sauce though. Instead, I mash up the yolks with a fork and sprinkle over the top of the sauce on the toast. Looks nice also instead of what one viewer commented!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States