Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Okay I cannot believe I came across this recipe. Other than a few differences in the eggs (since we put in the whole egg, sliced - not separating whites/yolk)and using chicken bouillon. It's our family recipe..except we never use measurements!! I've never actually saw a recipe for creamed eggs on toast before. This recipe is great; however, I probably will go back to just slicing the eggs, some things just are "creature" comforts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Dutcher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is great comfort food. I also add a dollop of mustard to mine, maybe for this sized recipe a teaspoon or so. yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Basic good recipe. I like to save some of the grated egg yoke for a garnish. Step it up a bit by adding just a dash of cayenne pepper and a few drops of lemon to the sauce. Or add some dried tarragonto the sauce instead. Use toasted English muffins or a coarse artisan bread instead of whit toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My mother used to make this for us when we were kids. Except she strained the egg yokes through a sieve so they landed on top of the egg whites in the white sauce like a golden blanket. She called it "Eggs Goldenrod." We all loved it! I think I'll make it soon and add a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Add Velveeta cheese . It's a delicious addition and my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
The picture included shows an sprinkling of bacon.....Green onion works great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
When I saw this recipe come up on my computer, my brain got enveloped in a myriad of flashbacks of meals long forgotten. My Mom used to make this and I loved it! Could not believe it. I had completely forgotten about this dish for 50 years. The only difference is she used to add paprika and dry mustard to it. I made it and was rewarded with pleasureable memories - not to mention a happy stomache! Thanks Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I never had this before, it was really good, kinda a twist on egg salad. I liked the chicken bouillon in it. I think I already memorized the recipe I liked this so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I grew up on this but my mom would put the yolks through a small sieve to sprinkle over the mixture . she called it eggs ala goldenrod it does make for better presentation. Sometimes she'd add peas hence creamed peas over toast. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I have made this for years. I cut the whole egg up, place on toast and add white sauce over top of it all. This is one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States