Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was a quick supper for us when I was growing up. Mother called it "Welsh Rarebit" which I believe was a twist on "Welsh Rabbit". No rabbit? Use eggs. We just sliced the boiled eggs, placed on toast, and covered with sauce, which sometimes had cheese in it also. Later, I found a recipe that called for beer instead of milk in the sauce. A nice variation. This is a definite comfort food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I grew up with his recipe and am still making it at 71. HERE"S A TWIST though...the children always got to push the yolks through a strainer or small sieve and then they (the yolks not the children) were served in a bowl of their own to sprinkle on the top...if no children are around a grown up can have the fun of pushing the yolks through...I'm not sure it makes it taste any better...but I know it makes it look much fancier and ever so elegant! I have never seen this recipe anywhere...how much fun to see it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I too have been making this dish for over 50 years. In the 50's, my mom made this dish for the family and called it "Egg-Ala-Goldenrod". She would make it every Sunday after church. Now my grandkids ask for it every time they come and stay with me. However I was taught to sprinkle the mashed egg yokes on top after the sauce was put on the toast. She made a simple white sauce (no chicken broth) and used white pepper. With a couple sausages on the side...deeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
My Norwegian grandmother made this recipe for us for years but she never included the chicken bouillon. I'll have to try it. It is also great on top of hash browns !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Havent tried this particular version of creamed eggs, but will make it for a brunch with shrimp and chopped asparagus mixed in served over toasted english mufffins with some cheese and paptika sprinkled on top, a pass in the broiler, sparkling wine and fresh fruit on the side. I could see this recipe going many different directions with different meats and vegs. mixed in like cubes of ham and peas or bacon and tomatos etc. Roger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I have been making this recipe since I was very young (in my sixties now). I haven't used the chicken bouillon before but certainly will try it. The other thing I do different is to spoon the cream sauce over the toast and then add sliced boiled eggs instead of crumbling them into the sauce. I doubt that it makes any difference in the flavor of the dish. Like the other reviewers say, it is a very versatile dish and can be easily modified; after all, it is simply a basic cream sauce that every cook uses at some point in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight for my husband and myself. I just did the recipe as stated and made no adjustments. It was very good all on it's own. Next time I will try adding the mustard powder or the onion rings as another reviewer suggested. It's simple and a nice meal that doesn't require meat so would be great for Fri. lent dinners. I will be fixing it for the grandkids next weekend and see what they think. Thanks for a simple, old fashioned, kind of meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Helbig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
A friend of mine gave me this recipe. His dad has made it for him and his brothers for years. The only difference in his recipe is that he adds diced ham to it. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Omit the chicken bouillon and it would taste just like the meal my mom made. I think the thicker chunks of egg are better, both yolk and whites stirred in at the end are good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
both the guys in my family really liked it. It is a do-over. I did add 1 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. horseradish along with a shake of cayenne, not that it needed it, I just preferred it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States