Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
My Norwegian grandmother made this recipe for us for years but she never included the chicken bouillon. I'll have to try it. It is also great on top of hash browns !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Havent tried this particular version of creamed eggs, but will make it for a brunch with shrimp and chopped asparagus mixed in served over toasted english mufffins with some cheese and paptika sprinkled on top, a pass in the broiler, sparkling wine and fresh fruit on the side. I could see this recipe going many different directions with different meats and vegs. mixed in like cubes of ham and peas or bacon and tomatos etc. Roger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I have been making this recipe since I was very young (in my sixties now). I haven't used the chicken bouillon before but certainly will try it. The other thing I do different is to spoon the cream sauce over the toast and then add sliced boiled eggs instead of crumbling them into the sauce. I doubt that it makes any difference in the flavor of the dish. Like the other reviewers say, it is a very versatile dish and can be easily modified; after all, it is simply a basic cream sauce that every cook uses at some point in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight for my husband and myself. I just did the recipe as stated and made no adjustments. It was very good all on it's own. Next time I will try adding the mustard powder or the onion rings as another reviewer suggested. It's simple and a nice meal that doesn't require meat so would be great for Fri. lent dinners. I will be fixing it for the grandkids next weekend and see what they think. Thanks for a simple, old fashioned, kind of meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Helbig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
A friend of mine gave me this recipe. His dad has made it for him and his brothers for years. The only difference in his recipe is that he adds diced ham to it. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Omit the chicken bouillon and it would taste just like the meal my mom made. I think the thicker chunks of egg are better, both yolk and whites stirred in at the end are good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
both the guys in my family really liked it. It is a do-over. I did add 1 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. horseradish along with a shake of cayenne, not that it needed it, I just preferred it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Okay I cannot believe I came across this recipe. Other than a few differences in the eggs (since we put in the whole egg, sliced - not separating whites/yolk)and using chicken bouillon. It's our family recipe..except we never use measurements!! I've never actually saw a recipe for creamed eggs on toast before. This recipe is great; however, I probably will go back to just slicing the eggs, some things just are "creature" comforts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is great comfort food. I also add a dollop of mustard to mine, maybe for this sized recipe a teaspoon or so. yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Basic good recipe. I like to save some of the grated egg yoke for a garnish. Step it up a bit by adding just a dash of cayenne pepper and a few drops of lemon to the sauce. Or add some dried tarragonto the sauce instead. Use toasted English muffins or a coarse artisan bread instead of whit toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States