Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My family recipe was very similar, medium white sauce with chopped egg whites in sauce served over toast. Take reserved egg yolks and force through strainer with back of spoon causing the egg yolks to become light and fluffy. Be sure to scrape the strinter to remove as much egg yolk as possible. Very pretty and people can't guess how you got the egg yolks into "goldenrods" thus the name. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Talk about a trip down memory lane! As a child, we had this once in awhile for dinner: sometimes after Easter, but once in awhile at other times of the year, and it wasn't until I was married and going through the "lean times" that I realized that she probably made this when there was more month at the end of the money! She always just sliced the eggs into the sauce, and I doubt she used bouillon (she passed away before I was an adult, so I can't ask), but this brings back many memories. I like the idea of adding sausage to the dish to make it even more "dinner-like"; I might try this with left-over Easter ham this year. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I was also raised with eggs goldenrod. The colored Easter eggs add a nice variety of color for Easter breakfast. We don't use the bouillon. But we always save some egg yolk for crumbling on top - that is the golden rod. It works well on English muffins. Sometimes we add mushrooms and peas to make more of a supper dish. My kids, now grown, are sure to pass this tradition on to the fifth generation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These were yummy. I used less egg yolks than what was called for and they still tasted very good. I used toasted rolls since I was low on sliced bread and they were excellent. I will make these again and next time I was thinking I will use to buttermilk biscuits. Hubby and kids LOVED these. a great way to use up hard boiled left over easter eggs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is even good for breakfast, and reminds me a little bit of the flavor of Eggs Benedict. My aunt just made it today, try using equal parts flour to butter, YUMMY! It's really addictive. A sprinkle of crumbly egg yolks on top looks really pretty. (also my aunt adds cheese to hers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I used to make this dish often Had forgotten about it until I saw recipe poster. I love it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have been making this too for years for my son. Never thought i would see a recipe for it. People have always thought it odd when I talked about it. The only thing I do different is I make it after Christmas with leftover turkey. Turkey, creamed gravy with the hardboiled eggs over bread, Heaven. We call it Turkey Ala King!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I also have been making this dish for 40+ years. We always had this, at my Pa and Grandma's, every Easter, after we had been to sunrise service. Our version was to use an egg slicer and slice the eggs then make a simple white sauce and add the eggs and stir until the eggs were warmed. Over the years I have been adding chopped chipped beef (the kind that comes in little packages where the sandwich meat, like bologna, is in your gorcery) or crumbled browned sausage to the egg mixture. It is wonderful comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Deiter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Everyone loves this for breakfast!! But I have an easier/faser alturnative to it. 6 hardboiled eggs (or if you like more add a few more) 1 can of Cream of Chicken soup 1 can of Milk Boil the eggs. When they are done boiling, let them sit in a pan of cold water. As they are cooling, mix the cream of chicken soup and milk in a sauce pan and heat. Peel the eggs, then cut them up in chunks, and mix in with soup mixture. Heat through. While that is heating, toast your bread and butter it. You can cut the bread up in chuncks or leave it whole; serve egg/soup mixture over toast. Sometimes I use bisquits instead of bread. You can also use english muffins. Absolutely delicious!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarrs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I eat this every Easter morning. I have never used chicken bullion in my recipe but always use real butter and put the creamed eggs over buttered toast. One of those childhood traditions my entire family dose. Gets rid of a lot of the Easter eggs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States