Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Love this recipe!! My mother has made creamed eggs on toast my whole life. It's one of my faves, but doesn't quite appeal to my husband (the way my mom made it....flour gravy with sliced eggs in it). So this recipe satisfies the hubs that wants more of a substantial gravy. I serve it over biscuits or toast. A great add in is to make it with bacon grease (in addition to or instead of butter) and top with crumbled bacon. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made this for my family and unfortunately no one really liked it. I am not sure if it was the recipe itself or just "Creamed Eggs" in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
So happy to have found this recipe! My grandfather used to make this, with his own little twist and we all called it "Eggs a la Adrian". I remember his being a little mustard-y (his twist) and it was delicious! So happy to have this recipe! Great recipe to allow you to put your own twist on it, and also great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna Durham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Creamed Easter Eggs!! I grew up eating this! We had it once a year on Easter. Mom would set some colored eggs aside in the fridge and then the egg mixture would have colored pieces. We set the yolks aside and grated in the yolk to taste in the sauce. Serve some grated yolk on top for "golden rod" Salt & pepper. Saves well for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was alright, a nice change from our typical scrambled eggs, bacon and toast breakfasts. I would probably make this again occasionally, but I don't consider it a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
We have chickens. We got chickens so we could have fresh eggs. This was successful far beyond our expectations, and as a result we are always on the hunt for egg recipes. Since finding this one about two weeks ago, we've made it 4 times and it is officially our go-to weekend egg breakfast recipe. We've tried adding different spices and flavorings, and honestly you can't go wrong - dill, Lowery's, cayenne - this sauce takes all suggestions beautifully. One suggestion: pull out your handy-dandy stick blender when you go to add the egg yolks to your sauce. Saves a ton of time and aggravation, and you get a nice smooth sauce. If you have access to fresh eggs, you're going to LOVE the beautiful golden color those bright egg yolks give the final product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I scaled this down to 2 servings, and had enough of the egg mixture to top 4 slices of toast. I had never tried anything like this before. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I just finished making this recipe for the first time. I thought it was pretty bland and couldn't find that wow factor. I tried adding a little nutmeg, onion powder and more boulion to wake up the flavor but only after I tried the finished recipe. Even with those additions this dish wasn't anything to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was a quick supper for us when I was growing up. Mother called it "Welsh Rarebit" which I believe was a twist on "Welsh Rabbit". No rabbit? Use eggs. We just sliced the boiled eggs, placed on toast, and covered with sauce, which sometimes had cheese in it also. Later, I found a recipe that called for beer instead of milk in the sauce. A nice variation. This is a definite comfort food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States