Creamed Cucumber Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Tasted like our mother's recipe. I used two and a half small cucumbers and it was still plenty of dressing. My DH's motehr also soaked her cukes in a salt/water solution overnight which made the cukes give off most of their water and also gave them a softer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
My mother not only added thinly sliced onions but she'd soak them most of the day or overnight in brine (salt/water) solution and then drain, rinse and squeeze out the liquid and then continue with the recipe, sometimes creamy and other times with just the vinegar/sugar. Guess it depended on her mood or what we were having for dinner, either way..it's comfort food to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was absolutely wonderful. The only thing I changed was that I used 3 cucumbers - thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
We like the combination of cucumber and onion so I am always looking for something other than the perverbial oil and vinegar...this is wonderful...I used 1/2 C. mayo and a little less milk but kept the other ingredients the same...I did use 2 cukes and some red onion for color and a bit of dry dill others have recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was very good. I agree that it did need some dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
After reading the reviews on a lot of different cucumber side dishes, I decided this one sounded the best. But because a lot of the reviews said it was a little too saucy, I cut the recipe in half before printing, though I guess I could have quartered it since I only had half a cucumber I needed to use. I was trying to find something that would go well with the broiled salmon I was making for dinner. Because of my half cucumber i decided to measure a bit short on the mayo (except I used miracle whip) and the milk and vinagar . . . But I added almost twice as much sugar and the salt and pepper to taste. But like someone else said, it still seemed like it needed something . . . I added about a tablespoon of parmesan cheese and about a teaspoon of granulated garlic. It was really good! It was a little saucy still, but I loved putting the extra sauce on the salmon. (Which was seasoned with steak seasoning and a bit of lemon pepper) even my 18 mo old daughter ate both the fish and the cukes with the sauce. And she's been really picky lately. So, it was an awesome start, but because I changed it so much I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
These are the best, But I use salad dressing intead of mayo for a little more zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I added a bit more vinegar and a sweet onion. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Only used 1/2 cup mayo. Also added dried dill, doubled the vinegar & sugar. To make it even creamier: after slicing the cucumber, sprinkle with about a 1/4 tsp salt, stir & let sit for about an hour. Then drain the juices off before mixing w/ the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prentice, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I thought this was delicious. I really liked the thick sauce. A second time, I tried thinning it down with more milk, but it tasted too bland. I love the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cucumber Sharks

Turn a crunchy cucumber into a garnish with teeth.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States