Creamed Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Prepared for dinner this evening... ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I do a much easier version. Cook the frozen corn, drain, add butter to taste (the more the better)salt & pepper to taste, a little sugar to taste & just enough whole milk to almost cover the corn, bring to a boil, mix a couple Tbsp cornstarch with just a little milk & add, a little at a time, stirring constantly until it's the desired thickness. Cook for a minute or so to remove raw starch taste, adjust salt, pepper & sugar as needed, stir & serve. I do the same for creamed peas, omitting the sugar. I am REQUIRED to do the creamed peas for holiday dinners. I do a triple batch & Son eats ALL the leftovers...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by narda2
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is Excellent!! I like creamed corn to be thick so I did what I usually do and read the comments...added the extra flour 1/2 cup, and it came out delicious. Thanks for the recipe. I will certainly make it again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've made this a couple of times and I really like it. The only thing I change is that I use fresh corn, not frozen. I know this is not always practical, especially in certain parts of the country, but please use fresh corn if you can. Really awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Used frozen corn instead of canned (but heat to room temperature, otherwise it takes forever for it to unclump). No matter how much I make, my son eats this like candy. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This was really good, and I agree I had to make a few changes, mostly to thicken it up and to add a bit extra flavor, but I know I do that with all recipes, even my own. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri-Lynn Howell-Schlaiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I have to say I absolutely, without a doubt HATE creamed corn. However, my husband loves it so I decided to make him something special and then stumbled upon this recipe. I'm glad I did because not only did my husband LOVE it...but so did I! I made a double batch and am really glad I did because a few days later I was stuck for a main dish. I pulled the leftovers out of the deep freezer and added 4 cups of chicken broth to a pot and allowed an equal amount of frozen creamed corn to thaw in the boiling broth. Once heated, I added 1 cup of shredded chicken breast and 1/2 - 3/4 cup of frozen peas the last 10 minutes. Pleasantly I came up with a chicken & corn chowder that is rich and buttery and VERY filling. Paired it with homemade buttermilk biscuits and voila....quick dinner. I love love love this creamed corn and will definitely make it for future family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was very good. So very very much better than the canned stuff I grew up on. I cut the recipe in half, so for 1/4 cup butter I used 3 T flour. I added some diced onions in to the butter before I added the flour. Also I didn't have Romano cheese so I used Asiago. And because it was so hot today I skipped the baking part of the recipe, just cooked it all on the stove. Worked great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Fantastic! I make this for holiday brunches and dinners all the time now! I've even substituted cheddar with good results. Thanks for the yummy recipe Gina!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
It's very good, but only 4 stars because it's too saucy. Needs more corn, less sauce. But really good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States