Creamed Cooked Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made the recipe as written although I did increase the oven temp to 350 - only because I wanted to be sure the cabbage was cooked through. Very nice mild flavor with a bit of sweetness. I served it with pork loin that I made in the crock pot and it was a nice marriage between the two dishes. I would make this again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This is WONDERFUL! I only had half and half, so added some shredded Cheddar cheese to the dish to thicken it a bit more, Panko crumbs on top, and the only mistake I made was in cutting the recipe to 4 servings for just the 2 of us--could have eaten more, lesson learned:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I'm not a big fan of cabbage but I loved this recipe! I made it exactly as written except I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs instead of plain. I liked the addition of the sugar, it brought out a subtle sweetness to the dish. (I have a bit of a sweet tooth.) I can't wait to get more cabbage & cream so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was fantastic. I prefered it fresh the first day, but it does reheat nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I chopped fresh cabbage instead of shredding it - so that may have been the problem. It didn't soak up the juice after cooking an hour and didn't have enough flavor for my taste. I added most of it to a potatoe chowder I made the next day= fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivetoEat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made half the recipe following the directions exactly. I found it verrrry bland. I added more salt which didn't help then stirred in some freeze dried chives. It helped a little, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made this today for me and my husband and it was VERY good! It was actually hard for me to stop eating it! Great taste, great texture! I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I had some shredded cabbage in the fridge, so made half of this recipe. If you want a bold side dish, this isn't for you. But if you're looking for something to, perhaps, complement a bold entree, this is it! My husband said this doesn't overwhelm anything, but still has a flavor (well put, I thought). Followed the recipe to the letter and used panko bread crumbs for the topping. It's just mellow, creamy, rich with a hint of freshly grated nutmeg. Don't tell the kids this is cooked cabbage because they'll never figure this one out. Thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This sounds like something I have to try - so different!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was a complete hit w/ my hubby and kids who dislike cabbage. Super easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States