Creamed Chipped Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Easy any yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene Pierce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Not the "traditional" SOS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Da_Beak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cologne, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The measurements are seriously off in this recipe. I used about 3 cups of milk and it was still pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Not a good taste at all. I see on here that several people have said that they have much better recipes that they currently use. Could you please post them as my girlfriend grew up on this and I am trying to make a good version for her. I grew up in the south and we did not eat this where I came from she is from Indiana and ate this a lot. Please help. LucasWilliamsGranda ma lives in her home town of Muncie, I would love to get her recipe if she sees this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natural Bridge, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I LOVE this recipe!!! For years I have been making this recipe without the sugar and kept thinking my grandmother's recipe was so much better, what is missing? Then I found this recipe and tried it and yes the sugar is what was missing it adds an additional depth to the flavors. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I'm guessing that whoever submitted this recipe was playing a joke... it's a horrible example of SOS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
too sweet and not enough sauce. Add 2 tbl sour cream, 1/2 cup more of milk, add beef last. Delete the brown suger, add garlic powder, pepper, and onion powder to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I'm getting ready to make it now. I used to love it growing up but we never served it on a "shingle" altho my dad (ex-Navy_ made sure to tell us the SOS story - LOL. My mom served it on mashed potatoes and OMG it is to die for. I don't ever remember her sauteeing the beef before hand but I will follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe was quite good, actually, with ham in place of the beef. On a morning that the fridge was running low, I prepared this with deli ham(chopped), and served it over fried potatoes with stewed apples on the side. Definitely use 3tbs flour and 2c milk as directed by one of the other reviews. interesting twist on SOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Too much work & fat. The easy way we do this is buy the canned or packaged chipped beef in the grocery store...cut to your desired size and add the beef to a can of creme of mushroom soup (using one can of milk to make the soup). Simple, easy, heat it up and serve over toast or english muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States