Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
My whole family just love it!! Instead of using jar of dried beef I just use 8oz. thin slices of beef lunchmeat "Budding" and it a lot cheaper!! Not salty at all and you don't even have to rinse!! You must try it and believe me, you won't be disappointed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
475 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Just like moms, minus the pepper and her beef came out of a bag. TIP: If you find this dish too salty, soak the beef in cold water for about 10 minutes, and drain. Try a piece, if its still too salty, soak in fresh water for 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMASPICE
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Comfort Food! Once I got the roux down (it took 2 tries), it was fantastic. I added the ceyenne pepper, seasoned salt and cracked black pepper. We used the Budding Luncheon Meat. Served it on toasted potato bread buns. I bet it would be great on biscuts! The boys scarfed them down faster than I could serve them. Goes down well with a BIG glass of cold MILK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
If this recipe is too salty for you, just boil the chipped beef in a little water for a few minutes, then drain off the water, which will take some the salt away with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I figured out that I have to almost double the sauce recipe. I still only use one jar of dried beef, but with more sauce, it's not as salty. Though it is definitely something that you can make quickly for everyone to eat. We make all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMOMMEE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I was surprised at how easy this recipe was. At first i was concerned that there was too much beef for the recipe but it turned out perfect! It is rare to find a creamed chipped beef recipe that is thick - this is it! i would like a little more flavor but i dont know what else to add. I love the cayenne but i feel like there could be another spice that i am not thinking of. Anyway it was great and i would definitely recommend this recipe just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le12ahw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This recipe is G-R-E-A-T!!! If yours turned out too salty, you probably used the jarred dried beef and should have RINSED it first. We used fresh dried beef from our local locker. Even my EXTREMELY picky 13 year old daughter and 5 year old son LOVE this stuff...and ask for it on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I used as someone else had suggested deli meat(Italian beef from Cub Foods)and it was awesome...We served over hash brown patties(for those that are not big bread eaters)...Next time I'll need to double the recipe...it was gone in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
My husband loved it, my 12 year old son declared it his "favorite meal", and we all wished I'd made more. The funny thing is-after reading the reviews, I boiled the jarred dried beef a minute, then rinsed it off...then we all had to ADD salt (and pepper) to our portion...Go Figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGENGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BreeAnn
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Fantastic, my husband loved it. Just what I was looking for. I mixed about 2/3 of the milk and the rest was cream. Also a great base to add extra's to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States