Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Excellent! Used ground beef instead. Browned beef and drained before adding to gravy mix. Added salt to taste, a pinch and a half of cayenne and fresh ground black pepper. Cayenne added great flavor with no heat. Served over biscuits or wheat toast. Brought back memories of my military Dad making this for us for breakfast on a cold day! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My family loved this recipe! Such a simple classic, but it was a hit (and SO affordable for cooking on a budget).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking5344

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Last time I made this we didn't have enough for three. I added a sprinkle of garlic power for fun, and it was delicious. Tonight I am doubling the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very nice!!! To put a little extra touch in it, try a few drops (up to a Tbsp. depending on your taste) Liquid Smoke and even add a small jar of mushrooms. Makes a very filling and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I personally don't care for this. My husband thinks it is ok and our 7 yr. old don't like it. However, our 20 yr. old who hates everything loves it. I always loved my mom's S.O.S. Has my taste changed? I am going to ask her how she made it when I was growing up. Sometimes she used hamburger and sometimes dried beef..Thanks for sharing and I am sure this is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Good. Been making for years. I leave the cayenne pepper out and use salt and pepper and I boil potatoes, chunk them up into small bite size cubes and put in the mixture. Adds a nice texture and makes a little heartier. Still serve over toast or a warm biscuit. Alwasy a favorite with the father inlaw with potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
One of my favorite comfort foods for breakfast. I add about a tsp of garlic powder and onion powder and some white pepper! I also get chipped dried beef from the deli! I sometimes serve this over homefries as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Very tasty! As another reviewer said, I used Buddig Corned Beef instead of dried beef. I also omitted the cayenne pepper. I put all the ingredients in a sauce pan at once and it still turned out. I just used a whisk to mix it and it thickened up nicely. My whole family liked it including my picky husband and 20 month old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Easy to make but not worth the trouble. It just didn't have anything that really tickled me or my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made this w/a packet of beef instead of jar. Yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States