Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My mother used to make this when I was a child for us all the time since we didn't have very much money. It's my absolute favorite. it's simple, easy, and brings back memories. it's not a flavorful dish if you're looking for something fancy and awakening, but if you have the same reasoning as i do, it's just a comfort food. And to make it better, my mom always put chopped hard-boiled eggs in hers. YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarelizm90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I used canned venision and it turned out great. I just let the venision drain and dry while I was cooking the gravy and it was awesome. I did add garlic and onion to my rue for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious! I haven't made this in ages and it hit the spot tonight.I used 1/2 stick butter and approx 1/2 cup of flour..be sure and cook that a minute or two to get rid of the flour taste. I then added the milk, slowly stirring and last added 2 pkgs of chipped beef that I sliced in 1/4 inch slices. Always a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved the simplicity of this recipe. My son and I just had this for lunch served over a plate of crispy crackers. I added beef bouillon to the thickening roux and though it added an even hardier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My family devoured this, so warm and comforting and super easy, used the jar beef and all I did was rinse it first came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
It was easy and my boyfriend loved it! I used the Buddig beef! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adornic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Talihina, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Very great recipe. As a vegetarian, I replaced the beef with 8oz of seitan (meat substitute) and it still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My mom always made this when I was a little girl and I've made it for my family for years. I start out with parkay margarine (it has more flavor than butter). I melt that and then stir in my beef. My favorite is to get it from a deli but that is usually not possible so buddig beef in the packages is the next best thing. I mix that with the parkay until lightly brown. I pour the milk into my tupperware gravy maker and add the flour and shake. I pour this mixture over top of the beef and butter and cook until heated and slightly thick. It is so much easier than trying to mix the flour and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
my mom used to make this and i had been craving it! came out perfect the second time...the first time i made a big oops! didn't wash the beef off...i didn't know to do it and it was pretty much inedible. second time around i rinsed it and it came out perfect! so for anyone else that has never cooked with dry beef...be warned! rinse it first :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was delicious and reminded me of my grandmother. I did double it and the family still looked at me like it wasn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States