Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Our family loved this recipe! I did make it with deli ham and added a lot of pepper and salt! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Rae Conner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I grew up eating this, I love it! I didn't see it on this recipe, but I've always had sliced hard boiled eggs in mine as well mixed in with the "gravy" and dried beef. It's excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by her95YJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is our traditional family breakfast for Christmas - served over hot split biscuits with fresh fruit salad. My slight alteration is to chop 'Buddig' beef lunch meat (no soaking necessary) and slightly brown it in a little butter, then remove the meat from the pan, prepare the white sauce as directed and add the cooked meat back once the sauce has thickened. Season to taste - oh, and the pinch of cayenne is a fun touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
i used 1/4 teas. nutmeg instead of cayenne pepper yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Great recipe only my family found that 8 oz of dried beef to be overwhelming. I used one (1) 2.25 oz jar of Armour dried beef and ground mixed peppercorns in the next try. It was a success!! I also took me back to my days in the Marine Corps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Good recipe, however.... Instead of making a flour roux, I simply add 2 tablespoons of corn starch to a half cup of water and stir it till completely dissolved. Then I add 2 tablespoons of butter to my deep frying pan, add the shredded chipped beef which I get sliced from the butcher shop, and lightly brown it in the butter. Then add 1 and 1/2 cups of milk, and the cornstarch mixture, and stir it till it boils. When it thickens, I remove it from the heat and top hash brown potatoes or home fries with it. I add a couple splashes of hot sauce to mine on the plate. Yes...I did alter this recipe as submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Ed

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
If you use just a tad bit of bacon fat like 1/2 tsp. with the butter, it gives this recipe a divine taste. My Slovak father made it this way. Great served with hash browns too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
have also used packaged deli pastrami and added some mustard, we use spicy brown mustard, but any will do..... I use around 1 -2 tablespoons for added zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Came out perfect, used the thin-sliced lunchmeat,just two 2oz packages. Then toasted potato hamburger buns with a generous amount of melty butter. Plated it like the pros on TV, added a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of black pepper. Paired with a bowled green salad with tomatoes, craisins, sunflower seeds, scallions, and vinaigrette dressing. Wish I had thought to take a pix before we dove in! Even my husband appreciated it - and he's not easy to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeNunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States