Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
this is AWESOME!!!!! for me too, SOS did NOT mean "same old stuff" (hahahaha). also, made with hamburge takes me back to GRADE SCHOOL!!!!! one of my favorite lunches was: hamburger gravy, mashed potatoes and lettuce with bacon dressing!!!!! oh the memories!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
brings me back 50years to the good old US Army
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Unlike other "reviewers," I prepared the recipe exactly as written. I used the dried beef called for, not hamburger or Walmart beef. Despite the fact that the beef label merely suggested, rather than specifying, rinsing the beef, I did not do so because the recipe never mentioned rinsing. The result was inedible because of the saltiness. If I try this again I will definitely rinse next time. Lisa, if the beef is to be rinsed, say so in the recipe. Oh, and S.O.S. definitely does not stand for "same old stuff."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
My mom made this while I was growing up. My parents had a different name for it though. The SOS didn't stand for Same Ole Stuff at my house. (I guess the Navy had their own name for it). ;-) Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
You had mention using Hamburger. My Mom still make this, and it really great over Mash Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Love Chipped Beef in gravy! You can get it from the Schwans Ice Cream Truck and it is fabulous! Comes in 2 trays you can either micro or heat on stove. I like to use Pillsbury Crescent Rolls and press them into muffin pans for Toast Points! That's the way my mother made it and she was from Pasadena where they do everything right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I haven't made this in years, but reading it brought back great memmories & the recipe is right on the money! I always added salt & pepper rather than cayenne. This is also great on a baked potato. This is great comfort food and thanks so much for the memmories! Think I might just go out and get the stuff to make it with this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My mom used to make this using a dried, chipped beef and we all loved it! I made it using the Budding beef and was very disappointed. The sauce was fine, but the beef wasn't. I may try it the next time using ground beef, since the dried beef in a jar is way expensive. That is how it was served when I was in the navy, and I always enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I grew up eating this for breakfast, made exactly like this recipe. Sometimes I want it for supper and I will serve it over biscuits and add frozen green peas to the creamed beef. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This has always been one of my families quick and easy favorites. We use the thin sliced deli beef instead of the jar though. A little salt and pepper and serve it over toast. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistybob80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States