Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Grew up on chipped beef on toast and have been making it myself for 40+ years. Never occurred to me to add cayenne pepper (we love cayenne pepper). The addition of this ingredient changes plain old (SOS) into a truly tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Just like my Mom used to make, so creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
OK - if the beef isn't swimming in the cream sauce, you've done it wrong. If the toast isn't completely covered in sauce, you've done it wrong. If you can eat it with your fingers, you've done it wrong. If you only put it on toast, you are missing out. Try it over your hash browns, or scrambled eggs, or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
yum. I forgot to add the cayenne pepper but was still delicious. Simple ingredients and easy to make. Better than Stouffer's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
We grew up on this being a Navy family. Of course, SOS stood for something else. :) This is wonderful comfort food. It's super over home made biscuits also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Kline
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
definately soak the beef first! as everyone else said, you can always add more salt. can't take it away! I normally don't eat SOS because of how salty it is, btu this was fantastic! Thoroughly enjoyed by both us! This will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Kline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I hadn't had this since I was a kid and boy did it bring back some memories of my grandmothers kitchen. Quick and easy but I used budding brand meat that is used for sandwiches and cut it up to add it. Great meal when in a pinch, or just wanting something quick and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Very good. I love the kick of the cayenne pepper. I also added black pepper (that's what my mom used) and a little bit of chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Upon a review and suggestion I used lunch meat and I would have to say use the dried beef it would had been much better. My son loved it. The husband said it was ok. And well my opinion is lesser of the two. The cream sauce seemed to be missing that flavor that comes with it and that may had been due to using the lunch meat instead of the dried beef. So I would maybe try this again but I would use the dried beef and maybe a tablespoon more of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! I forgot and added salt so it was too salty- big boo boo- the dried beef has plenty of salt. I halved the recipe for two people, and added at least half a cup more milk, as it kept getting thick, which stretched it far enough for 4 english muffin halves, as half the recipe alone would not have been enough. Great quick filling breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States