Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! I forgot and added salt so it was too salty- big boo boo- the dried beef has plenty of salt. I halved the recipe for two people, and added at least half a cup more milk, as it kept getting thick, which stretched it far enough for 4 english muffin halves, as half the recipe alone would not have been enough. Great quick filling breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is the standard Philadelphia recipe and it's great except for the jar of dried beef. Use real dried beef available from www.PhillyPretzels.com shopping cart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My mother used to make this when I was a child for us all the time since we didn't have very much money. It's my absolute favorite. it's simple, easy, and brings back memories. it's not a flavorful dish if you're looking for something fancy and awakening, but if you have the same reasoning as i do, it's just a comfort food. And to make it better, my mom always put chopped hard-boiled eggs in hers. YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarelizm90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I used canned venision and it turned out great. I just let the venision drain and dry while I was cooking the gravy and it was awesome. I did add garlic and onion to my rue for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious! I haven't made this in ages and it hit the spot tonight.I used 1/2 stick butter and approx 1/2 cup of flour..be sure and cook that a minute or two to get rid of the flour taste. I then added the milk, slowly stirring and last added 2 pkgs of chipped beef that I sliced in 1/4 inch slices. Always a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved the simplicity of this recipe. My son and I just had this for lunch served over a plate of crispy crackers. I added beef bouillon to the thickening roux and though it added an even hardier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My family devoured this, so warm and comforting and super easy, used the jar beef and all I did was rinse it first came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
It was easy and my boyfriend loved it! I used the Buddig beef! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adornic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Talihina, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Very great recipe. As a vegetarian, I replaced the beef with 8oz of seitan (meat substitute) and it still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My mom always made this when I was a little girl and I've made it for my family for years. I start out with parkay margarine (it has more flavor than butter). I melt that and then stir in my beef. My favorite is to get it from a deli but that is usually not possible so buddig beef in the packages is the next best thing. I mix that with the parkay until lightly brown. I pour the milk into my tupperware gravy maker and add the flour and shake. I pour this mixture over top of the beef and butter and cook until heated and slightly thick. It is so much easier than trying to mix the flour and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States