Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I added seasonings and this was still quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Awesome !!!!! I sautéed a small amt of onion in butter / along with the dried beef . Then added flour / then the milk .... This was the simplest recipe EVER !!! And tastes just like mom used to make !!!! I will put this in my rotation ! I served it with steamed carrots on the side ( so supper looked a little prettier ! Ha ) yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I also grew up on SOS from my British Grandmother and loved it. I was the only member of my team in Vietnam to go back for seconds in the mess hall and everyone thought I was crazy :) The chipped beef is becoming very difficult to find, though, in American supermarkets, but I moved to Canada about 8 years ago and discovered a butcher that produces a very thin beef that is smoked with Montreal spice. I was checking my refrigerator last night and found about a half pound (250gr) of beef and remembered the chipped beef on toast of my youth. It was simple and quick and just as I remembered. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walker Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
We had never had this before so because of all the good reviews I decided to make it. My 2 year old ate one bite and refused to eat any more. The sauce to meat ratio is off. Needs way more sauce. The dried beef was salty, even after rinsing twice in hot and cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Made it exactly according to the recipe, but used dried venison rather than beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Just like mom used to make. My youngest boy (6 yr) raved about it. It is very simple, comfort food. I used sliced, packaged, peppered beef lunch meat. It doesn't get much easier than this on a work night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie R.
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I used steak-ums because I didn't have any Buddig beef. I will definitely use Buddig next time lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very similar to my family recipe. The only things I do differently: use 3 packs of buddig beef (no need to rinse), increase butter to 3 TBSP, add beef to butter in pan & simmer for a few minutes to add flavor before adding flour. Also use 3/4 cup half n half & 3/4 cup of milk for richer sauce & I add black pepper, nothing else. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Exactly what I remembered from childhood. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Johns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a great trip back to my childhood. I, too, made more sauce. And BTW, in our house, SOS did not stand for Same Old Stuff. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Beckman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States