Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have made it this way for years. Sometimes I substitute hard boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugger54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is just like my Mom's only where;s the peas and boiled eggs? Reminds me of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I use 2 packages of Buddig sliced beef and add a dash or 2 of Worcestershire sauce to the cream sauce instead of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnson City, New York, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Yummy, yummy....Love this over big fluffy baked potatoes, too. Really delish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
add Nutmeg to taste...i always do that...it adds flavor and you dont even know its there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have never heard of dried beef in a jar, nor have I ever seen it in the store. I have made this many a time with browned ground beef in a brown gravy instead of a creamed one. I like it fixed that way a lot, but am turned off by dried or even luncheon meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was a standard for us duiring WWII. We had it at least once per week. Could be served at any meal, and was a godsend for my widowed mother with 5 of us to feed. I was the oldest and always loved this and still make it. It is identical to what we made but without the cayenne. When I added this it was a definite plus. 5 stars plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is so good, and so quick. Actually you can use any kind of meat or even a can of tuna and put it on toast. I think they called it SOS in the army. I have made it many times. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I've always added the chipped beef to the butter and let it cook just a little bit, it seems to add flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a good recipe which I used except for the cayenne-I used black pepper instead. But over the years I tweaked it. Melt the butter in the pan, then put shredded dried beef in the butter. Let it sizzle on medium heat for 3-4 minutes, stirring often. It will develop a better flavor by doing that - and give it more of a chew factor. Then add the flour, stir until 'roux' develops, add the milk and (just) pepper (no salt necessary. simmer till thickened and bubbly. You can also throw in a small can of drained baby peas (or frozen) - like a half cup; and if you like mushrooms, toss some (canned, drained) of those in also. I personally like it over biscuits instead of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States