Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Just like Mom's! Both my young boys ate this up. Quite a feat since my youngest (2) doesn't like meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Just like my grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Made this last night and it sure took me back to the good old days. This is the same way my mother made it. The only change I made was to use bacon grease instead of butter. I did splurge on the jar beef. The jar is now larger than I remember it but I believe it had the same amount of beef. I guess they want to make you feel you are getting more for the high price.We ate it on plain toast which is what my mother always used. It is a real comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Good, solid recipe - brought back memories of one of dad's specialties when I was a kid. I found the salt level fine without rinsing the dried beef, but I did make a little extra on the white sauce so that may have helped. Added some cracked black pepper, served over rice - YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I love creamed chip beef on toast but the jar of chipped beef was so terribly salty, I could not eat it. Any suggestions as to getting the salt out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
this is AWESOME!!!!! for me too, SOS did NOT mean "same old stuff" (hahahaha). also, made with hamburge takes me back to GRADE SCHOOL!!!!! one of my favorite lunches was: hamburger gravy, mashed potatoes and lettuce with bacon dressing!!!!! oh the memories!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
brings me back 50years to the good old US Army
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Unlike other "reviewers," I prepared the recipe exactly as written. I used the dried beef called for, not hamburger or Walmart beef. Despite the fact that the beef label merely suggested, rather than specifying, rinsing the beef, I did not do so because the recipe never mentioned rinsing. The result was inedible because of the saltiness. If I try this again I will definitely rinse next time. Lisa, if the beef is to be rinsed, say so in the recipe. Oh, and S.O.S. definitely does not stand for "same old stuff."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
My mom made this while I was growing up. My parents had a different name for it though. The SOS didn't stand for Same Ole Stuff at my house. (I guess the Navy had their own name for it). ;-) Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States