Creamed Chipped Beef On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I've had this dish (sans cayenne, add black pepper) for as long as I can remember. Always a family favorite (: & we call it SOS, too, but it stands for S**t On Shingles lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Make it just like this recipe and you can't go wrong! It is delicious! Top with a shake or two of black pepper. When my parents married in 1953, the only thing my mother could cook was creamed chipped beef on toast. So, meal after meal week after week she made it until my father almost tossed her out! Eventually, she became a fabulous cook, and the story of the chipped beef and how my father grew to hate it was a funny part of the family history. One day, when I was about twelve, I asked her to make it so I could taste what she had cooked meal after meal all those years before. She did, and when my father got home ready for dinner, he took one look at the chipped beef on toast and said, "Oh, no! Not this stuff again! Didn't we just have this???" She never made it again! Another quicky recipe for this dish is to chip the beef into canned concentrated mushroom soup, adding only a little milk to get the right soupiness. Heat slowly over low heat to avoid scorching. Don't forget the cayenne - a bit more is tasty. And the toast must be fresh, well browned, and hot for the best effect. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I love this, I had it as a child and now and then as a quick meal. The only thing I do different is to rinse the beef under running water for a few minutes to get rid of some salt. Awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Thank you! I have been looking for a simple and tasty recipe for this dish for awhile. Having grown up in a Navy family we had a different, and far less appealing, meaning of "SOS" but always loved it just the same. True comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaveInRI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I just got this recipe and am going to try it Sat. for dinner. I am a big lover of this particular food but it usually is way too salty for my blood pressure. I got a few good tips here for calming the salt. But I do love the way you cleaned up that SOS name. I grew up with the original SOS name since my father was in the service. I'm giving you 5 stars because your recipe sounds better than most I've read and the tips were good. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is also delicious with grated nutmeg. Next time I make it I'm going to try it with a bit of both cayenne and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy J Zimmerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
add some grated sharp cheddar cheese to the sauce...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
My mom used to make a similar versioo, but she added frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
My mom used to make this all the time for my retired Air Force/Army dad. She would use hamburger instead of the chipped beef and it was always a favorite in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Nevue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
S**T on a Shingle. Dad hates it as he had it every day in the service. Mom made it for us. Originally it was canned or bagged chipped meat/beef, milk gravy and toasted white bread. No curry or cayenne at all. Only salt and black pepper. And BTW, milk gravy IS made with a roux, which is just a fancy French way of telling you to cook off the butter/flour mixture to get full flavor before adding the milk. Oh and FORGET THE MERLOT! Try a cold dark beer, that will stand up to the salt in the meat. Also really good over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States