Creamed Chicken for Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was good, but it lacks chicken flavor. I made it as written, omitting only the almonds, because I had none. For the chicken, I first seared, then simmered bone-in chicken breasts in the chicken broth. I deglazed the sauté pan and added those drippings to the saucepan. My sauce was beautiful and thick until I added the peas. Then it thinned out. I think the peas were still a little frozen, a mistake I won't repeat. I fixed the sauce with a little cornstarch slurry, no problem there. Still, it was too light on flavor. I added about 2 TBLS poultry seasoning and a teaspoon of chicken bouillon. Then it was perfect. So, 4 stars, because it needs a flavor boost. Easy to make and great for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
It was really good. The only thing I did was double the garlic I also used 4 good sized chicken beast. It was a hit, my BF asked me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Yummy! Will be adding this to my regular meals menu. It was so simple to make and I love that it didn't need a can of something in the recipe. I did do as suggested by other reviews and used 1 cup cream and 1 cup 2% milk. I also left out the almonds. I added mushrooms and 1/2 a chopped onion. I used frozen peas and carrots. Wonderful. I used Red Lobster Cheddar bay biscuit mix and topped with its batter in "lumps" and baked in the oven for 15 minutes to cook the biscuits. The added garlic from the biscuits added the perfect touch. If I make this without these biscuits I think I will add extra garlic (oh and I used minced fresh). Thanks for sharing a great repeat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I used frozen mixed veggies instead, no almonds. Used the broth from the cooked chicken cubes. Added more garlic. Great recipe, kid loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
So good. I boiled my chicken breasts first then shredded them as one reviewer suggested. Also used 1c heavy cream and 1c lite cream. Instead of almonds and peas I used 2 cans (drained) of the "fancy" vegetables - potatoes, carrots and green beans only because I have a picky eater at home. This dish was SUPER delish and leaves lots of room for seasoning the way you like. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Really nice recipe, I seasoned mine a little more with some poultry seasoning, sautéed onion and garlic. Half and half worked just fine and spooned it on puff pastry shells. Served with a salad and everyone thought it was special. Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
BF said it was creamy and dreamy! He loved it so did my Mom as I thought it was easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I used the recipe as written used 2 cups of the water I boiled the chicken in and added 1 cube of chicken boullion used whole milk instead of the cream and the flavor was wonderful I liked this recipe just fine thanks for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made is for my husband who's mother always made chicken and biscuits. He really liked it and said he'd love for me to make it again. I used 2% milk for the cream and boullion instead of broth. It came out very tasty, although I had to add a little extra salt and pepper. I served it over Bisquick biscuits. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this an poured it over some popovers. YUM! It was the exact flavor I was looking / hoping for. I only had 1 cup of heavy cream to spare so I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup of whole milk. I will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States