Creamed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I'm embarrassed to admit that I ate the entire pan of this for dinner tonight. I used a mixture of cheeses - extra sharp Cheddar, smoked Gouda and Parmesan. This would be good with cabbage and cauliflower. Delicious. Thanks, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I read the reviews that some people found it bland so I made some small changes. I sauteed the cabbage in olive oil along with half an onion which I had leftover from another recipe. I had some leftover Asiago cheese that had rosemary in it that I used for most of the cheese but added what I needed of Romano cheese. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes to the cream sauce which I made with skim milk. To the top I added seasoned panko bread crumbs. Husband says this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I sauteed the cabbage until tender instead of steaming. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This dish was ok. The romano cheese didn't melt very well. It was something different to try, but will probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very good side dish for a chilly night. Used finely shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Mixed review on this one. My husband loved it, I thought it was rather bland. I added a layer of shredded Swiss cheese in addition to the Parmesan/Romano cheese between layers of cabbage and sprinkled Swiss cheese over the top. Then I placed the casserole under the broiler for the last five minutes to brown the cheese. I must admit, the next day leftovers seemed tastier. It was something different to make with cabbage and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
My husband loves cabbage, so I decided to try something different. This will be a keeper, he loved it. I used parmesan instead of romano, because I had all the other ingredients on hand. Kids wouldnt touch it, but I really didnt expect them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
lol I keep forgetting that I am old. (66) This is basic white sauce with cheese. This is the best recipe to know. Then add flavourings. Add cheddar for noodles or macaroni. Same recipe...different cheese. Once you know the basics for thin, medium and thick white sauce...can be used for all sorts of things. I love creamed peas. or with different herbs...oh and garlic. for potatoes too. OOO creamed spuds are great. And of course cabbage, cauliflower. Geesh I should be writing a blog here. Sorry. This is the basic sauce when they call it "scalloped".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
everyone but the kids loved this.my single brother in law ask me for the recipe! The romano cheese really makes this.Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
living in Japan, cabbage is really cheap. This is by far the best ever. The ingredients are already at home, all you have to do is pick up a head of cabbage!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States