Creamed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
WE BOTH LOVED IT THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was a very tasty smooth and mild recipe which my whole family enjoyed. I did use Napa Chinese Cabbage as my husband won't eat regular cabbage, and it was excellent. I've also prepared it with different types of cheddar and other mild cheeses to match the flavors of the main dish, with equally delicious results. I've subbed in canned milk, and Half&Half to replace milk with tasty results, using the cream for a fancy dinner, and the canned milk when I ran out of whole milk. I've frozen some in meal sized portions and will report back how it does as a OMC dish. Kudos to Michele and thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
lol I keep forgetting that I am old. (66) This is basic white sauce with cheese. This is the best recipe to know. Then add flavourings. Add cheddar for noodles or macaroni. Same recipe...different cheese. Once you know the basics for thin, medium and thick white sauce...can be used for all sorts of things. I love creamed peas. or with different herbs...oh and garlic. for potatoes too. OOO creamed spuds are great. And of course cabbage, cauliflower. Geesh I should be writing a blog here. Sorry. This is the basic sauce when they call it "scalloped".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
everyone but the kids loved this.my single brother in law ask me for the recipe! The romano cheese really makes this.Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I'm embarrassed to admit that I ate the entire pan of this for dinner tonight. I used a mixture of cheeses - extra sharp Cheddar, smoked Gouda and Parmesan. This would be good with cabbage and cauliflower. Delicious. Thanks, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Simple to make and I love the cheese in this. I made as wrtten and the only thing I would add is some butter bread crumbs to finish the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I read the reviews that some people found it bland so I made some small changes. I sauteed the cabbage in olive oil along with half an onion which I had leftover from another recipe. I had some leftover Asiago cheese that had rosemary in it that I used for most of the cheese but added what I needed of Romano cheese. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes to the cream sauce which I made with skim milk. To the top I added seasoned panko bread crumbs. Husband says this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
living in Japan, cabbage is really cheap. This is by far the best ever. The ingredients are already at home, all you have to do is pick up a head of cabbage!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I used cheddar instead of Romano and sprinkled with cayenne. It was a very, very tasty casserole. Will be made again in this kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I followed this exactly except for adding a little shredded mozzarella cheese and sour cream. This is delicious!!! My kids like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States