Creamed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I have made this about five different ways for my client. With bacon, with sausage, adding nutmeg, onion, etc. Also used bacon grease for the roux. Never ever a bad combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This had a good flavor, but was a little bland. Doesn't need the romano cheese, just some onion powder, salt and pepper and a little bacon grease. Much better after I spiced it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
this is very similar to a dish I had in Taiwan, I added small package of dried shrimp and chili flakes, simple to make and a great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Loved, loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My favorite creamed cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've had other creamed vegetables before, but never made it myself, and never thought of creaming cabbage. Sauteeing the cabbage in just a teaspoon each of olive oil and butter (in a non-stick pan) improves the flavor DRAMATICALLY over simply steaming it. I added a sliced onion & 2 shredded carrots as well. Traditionally, a roux is made by melting butter over medium heat, adding flour, then cooking and stirring constantly for a minute or so over medium heat (this gets rid of the "raw" flour taste that throwing all ingredients together at once causes), then adding milk, half-and-half or cream, and stirring until thickened and bubbly. Any type of cheese can be added. I had smoked gouda and some cheddar on hand, so used those. I really loved this recipe, and it definitely inspired me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Simple to make and I love the cheese in this. I made as wrtten and the only thing I would add is some butter bread crumbs to finish the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I followed this exactly except for adding a little shredded mozzarella cheese and sour cream. This is delicious!!! My kids like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
lol I keep forgetting that I am old. (66) This is basic white sauce with cheese. This is the best recipe to know. Then add flavourings. Add cheddar for noodles or macaroni. Same recipe...different cheese. Once you know the basics for thin, medium and thick white sauce...can be used for all sorts of things. I love creamed peas. or with different herbs...oh and garlic. for potatoes too. OOO creamed spuds are great. And of course cabbage, cauliflower. Geesh I should be writing a blog here. Sorry. This is the basic sauce when they call it "scalloped".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States