Creamed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
this is very similar to a dish I had in Taiwan, I added small package of dried shrimp and chili flakes, simple to make and a great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Loved, loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My favorite creamed cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've had other creamed vegetables before, but never made it myself, and never thought of creaming cabbage. Sauteeing the cabbage in just a teaspoon each of olive oil and butter (in a non-stick pan) improves the flavor DRAMATICALLY over simply steaming it. I added a sliced onion & 2 shredded carrots as well. Traditionally, a roux is made by melting butter over medium heat, adding flour, then cooking and stirring constantly for a minute or so over medium heat (this gets rid of the "raw" flour taste that throwing all ingredients together at once causes), then adding milk, half-and-half or cream, and stirring until thickened and bubbly. Any type of cheese can be added. I had smoked gouda and some cheddar on hand, so used those. I really loved this recipe, and it definitely inspired me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Simple to make and I love the cheese in this. I made as wrtten and the only thing I would add is some butter bread crumbs to finish the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I followed this exactly except for adding a little shredded mozzarella cheese and sour cream. This is delicious!!! My kids like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
lol I keep forgetting that I am old. (66) This is basic white sauce with cheese. This is the best recipe to know. Then add flavourings. Add cheddar for noodles or macaroni. Same recipe...different cheese. Once you know the basics for thin, medium and thick white sauce...can be used for all sorts of things. I love creamed peas. or with different herbs...oh and garlic. for potatoes too. OOO creamed spuds are great. And of course cabbage, cauliflower. Geesh I should be writing a blog here. Sorry. This is the basic sauce when they call it "scalloped".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I used cheddar instead of Romano and sprinkled with cayenne. It was a very, very tasty casserole. Will be made again in this kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was a very tasty smooth and mild recipe which my whole family enjoyed. I did use Napa Chinese Cabbage as my husband won't eat regular cabbage, and it was excellent. I've also prepared it with different types of cheddar and other mild cheeses to match the flavors of the main dish, with equally delicious results. I've subbed in canned milk, and Half&Half to replace milk with tasty results, using the cream for a fancy dinner, and the canned milk when I ran out of whole milk. I've frozen some in meal sized portions and will report back how it does as a OMC dish. Kudos to Michele and thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States