Creamed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
SCRUMPTIOUS! I got cabbage for ten cents a pound today, so it's Cabbage Week. This recipe is SO GOOD that I wouldn't mind eating it for dinner tomorrow too! Didn't have bacon on hand so used sausage. I also put in a sprinkle of dill seed. How can such a humble veggie be so delicious? I made a huge stockpot full and between two people (and one lunch reserved for tomorrow) it is gone! I like reviewer allisony's comment: "Proves anything is good when coated in three kinds of fat ;)" Ha! Bonus: is guilt-free, because...........it's cabbage! Thank you, jessann5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Tasty side! Easily serves 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love this!!! I've made this many times and the only thing I've changed..for my own personal tastes after the initial 2 times following exactly, is I add smoked sweet paprika and smoked sea salt at the very end of the cooking time...and I sprinkle some of the paprika on top..makes a nice presentation...thanks for a keeper of a recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Delicious. I made this exactly as written except added caramelized onions as suggested by another viewer. My picky teenager even liked it. Definitely will make again as pass on to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Didn't like at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Lassiter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Wow. This was really good but way too rich.No counting calories with this dish on the menu. Worth the extra workout tomorrow though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is my favorite creamed cabbage recipe I've ever tried. To lower the fat a bit, just substitute the sour cream with plain greek yogurt and a good brand of turkey bacon. This is a tasty, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I looked at this recipe for a few days before I finally decided to try it. I was so sure I wouldn't like it with of all the fat but I was so wrong! It was so good and very easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and decided as long as I save it for special occasions I should be okay. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Only did a half a head of cabbage because that is what I had and it was so delicious. I also added a rainbow carrot to the mix during the pan frying and it added some nice flavorful crunch. This made cabbage a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
If you like bacon, you will probably like this dish regardless of how you feel about cabbage. I love red cabbage, but I am not very fond of cooked green cabbage. I really like this dish and could probably eat it all day. The only change I made was to substitute plain greek yogurt for the sour cream because I didn't have any sour cream on hand. This is one I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States