Creamed Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very good! I had on hand only 2 carrots. Added only 1 cup of 1/2 and 1/2, and skipped flour step, per my hubby taste tester. Added salt and more soy sauce to taste. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I thought this was nice- family did not like it. Bland. Changed rating from 3 to 4 on second day. Leftovers much better- flavors mixed better or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I LOOOVVVVEEEEDDDD this soup! We used skim milk instead of cream and added cheese to the top at the end, but did everything else just like the recipe said. it is now one of my all time favorite soups! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
It was very good but I also made some additions. My husband is not a creamed soup fan but I needed to use up a bunch of broccoli .This is what I did. Instead of H2O and bouillonI used chic broth then,reduced the milk by half. I used 1/4 cup heavy cream. 3/4 cup of 2% evaporated milk to total a cup . Then, I added 1/2 of a 14.5oz can of tomatoes w/green chili's as well as 1/4 t of lemon-pepper instead of the black pepper. Cooked as stated. I really did not need the flour and water as the soup was very thick after pureeing some. I used it though since I had already mixed it up. All of it was not pureed as we like some chunky in our soup. It was a bit picante' but that is how we like it. - Lynnita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
YUM!! My 11 year old son even loved this one and what a great way to get him to "eat his veggies"!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I'm SO HAPPY with the way this soup tastes! It's delicious. I'm a teacher and need healthy meals I can prepare in advance for the week. This soup will be a staple when the fall semester begins. Perfect for lunch! I read some of the other comments and decided to make my own adjustments even though this was my first time using this recipe. I was gratefully warned about the sweetness of the carrots, so I added an additional cup of broccoli (instead of cutting the amount of carrots). This helped cut the sweetness quite a bit! I also used low sodium veggie stock instead of the water and bouillon. Since I'm insulin resistant, I avoid white flour as much as I can. I used a little leftover baked potato, which has more nutrients than white flour. I simply dug my tablespoon into the potato for 3 even measurements (without potato skin) and mixed with ice water. I mashed both to a thin liquid texture. In addition, I threw in 4 chopped mushrooms at the final step simply because I LOVE mushrooms, and Dr. Oz says to eat BOMs every day (berries, onions, mushrooms). :D I will definitely make this recipe again and again. Very delicious and healthy! Thank you for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Not too bad, I love that its good either cold or hot. I used chicken broth instead of chicken bullion and water, and it came out great, but I found that the carrot overpowered the broccoli a little too much, so I added more florets to the soup after it was pureed, and I also found it a little bland, so I added a bit more pepper, a touch of paprika, and little bit of nutmeg. Not a bad way to get your veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This soup is very tasty. I only had 1 carrot, and that was the perfect amount. I added in some celery instead. I also added in some cauliflower that I had leftover. I thought the soup was slightly watery for my tastes, so I will eliminate 1 C of water next time around. Definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Per other reviewer comments, I made a few changes. I used chicken broth instead of water and bullion, used only two carrots, and cooked the broccoli for only about 10 minutes, then pureed everything together. I also added only a 1/2 cup of cream, instead of 2 cups half and half and left out the flour/water step. It was plenty creamy and thick. I actually forgot the soy sauce, but would add it next time as the soup needed salt - my fault. If I made it again I might even increase the amount of broccoli to get a stronger broccoli flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was really, really good. Made a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States