Creamed Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I loved this... simple, good old fashioned, comfort home cooking. Took very little time and made a great meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Very tasty; very easy. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made it last night; AMAZING!! I grew up on creamed peas & toast and this brought me right back to those times with a kick. Loved the addition of the beef! I seasoned my beef before hand with onion, garlic, salt & pepper. I also didn't have canned peas so I used frozen and enjoyed that burst of flavor. Served with mashed potatoes and had enough leftovers for lunch today on toast. This is a keeper and looking forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This really brought back my childhood, my Dad made this when he was in the Navy, and for us as kids. I added mushrooms and served it over sour cream and chive mashed potatoes! Comfort food at it's best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This is one of those "keeper" recipes I've made over and over many times. I found l/4 c. flour added after you fry the onions and beef and continue to fry for about 3 min. (stirring constantly) will remove the raw flour taste in the finished product. Also, I heat the milk and add it a little at a time for desired consistentcy. The hot milk helps eliminate the "lumps" in the gravy. We like this over mashed potatoes.I also add some fresh garlic chopped to the onions.....pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Taste good easy to make and can have it for left overs because it makes a lot. I ate mine over mashed potatoes for dinner and over bread for lunch the next day. Hubby loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My family makes this under the recipe title "Ground Meat and Peas" and serves it over mashed potatoes or bread. Only we use far less milk and do not drain the peas. This will increase the flavor quite a bit. Also when it says add salt and pepper to taste, it should really read, add a 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper, or more to taste. You really need the pepper in this dish. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Love this recipe - I did some alterations, about half the milk and flour, added some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. Then I spooned over egg noodles. I think next time, I will add some sour cream to the recipe and see how that works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
After browning the meat, I drained it and sauteed one small sweet onion and about eight ounces of fresh mushrooms in the butter before adding the flour. I did need a little more butter because mushrooms do tend to suck up liquids. For a creamier sauce, I used half whole milk/half evaporated milk. I omitted the peas only because noone in this house likes them. I served this over toast. Everyone liked it, especially me. Pure comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I skipped the onions and peas cause I had neither- I added onion powder, garlic salt, a lot of salt and pepper and some crushed red pepper and served with corn. Ate over biscuits- perfect for winter comfort food. My whole family ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States