Creamed Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
My husband loved this dish! It's a homemade version of hamburger helper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
I'm sorry, but I didn't care much for this dish. It didn't have very much flavor and I could really taste the flour used in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This recipe is nice when you just want to throw some things together on a semi busy week night. However, I thought it was bland so I suggest adding various spices to it to increase the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Very tasty; very easy. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
After reading other reviews, I changed it a bit by adding two beef bullion cubes, garlic salt, and Creole seasoning to the sauce, and about six small sliced boiled potatoes to the hamburger mixture. Came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
It did not have much taste so I added some pepper and a beef cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This is an excellent "comfort food" meal! It's quick and easy for a meal on the run..:) I recommend having it with homemade biscuits! Yum. I didn't have peas, so I used broccoli instead. Still delicious! Great job Granny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This is one of those "keeper" recipes I've made over and over many times. I found l/4 c. flour added after you fry the onions and beef and continue to fry for about 3 min. (stirring constantly) will remove the raw flour taste in the finished product. Also, I heat the milk and add it a little at a time for desired consistentcy. The hot milk helps eliminate the "lumps" in the gravy. We like this over mashed potatoes.I also add some fresh garlic chopped to the onions.....pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This is a quick easy meal when you are busy. For those of you who found it to be bland try using cream of celery or cream of mushroom soup diluted with a little milk. My family likes it with one of the cream soups. Omit the onion if you wish. It's something like the army s.o.s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This recipe as is isn't bad for a quick meal when your pantry is bare. But to make it really delicious, make it the Army way, known as Army SOS: skip the peas and serve it on toast for breakfast, with a fried egg(optional) on top. Use Half and Half instead of regular milk and use beef boullion to taste instead of salt. Also add garlic and pepper to taste and don't drain the fat, as this will add flavor to the sauce. This meal, adapted from a Fort Knox mess hall recipe years ago is a tradition in our household each Christmas and Thanksgiving morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States