Creamed Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Edible--but debatable. No flavor, sauce was way too thick. I suppose better than NOT having a meal--but I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Good, simple, fast recipie. Needed a good bit of salt and other seasoning, but I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This recipe as is isn't bad for a quick meal when your pantry is bare. But to make it really delicious, make it the Army way, known as Army SOS: skip the peas and serve it on toast for breakfast, with a fried egg(optional) on top. Use Half and Half instead of regular milk and use beef boullion to taste instead of salt. Also add garlic and pepper to taste and don't drain the fat, as this will add flavor to the sauce. This meal, adapted from a Fort Knox mess hall recipe years ago is a tradition in our household each Christmas and Thanksgiving morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This is a quick easy meal when you are busy. For those of you who found it to be bland try using cream of celery or cream of mushroom soup diluted with a little milk. My family likes it with one of the cream soups. Omit the onion if you wish. It's something like the army s.o.s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This is one of those "keeper" recipes I've made over and over many times. I found l/4 c. flour added after you fry the onions and beef and continue to fry for about 3 min. (stirring constantly) will remove the raw flour taste in the finished product. Also, I heat the milk and add it a little at a time for desired consistentcy. The hot milk helps eliminate the "lumps" in the gravy. We like this over mashed potatoes.I also add some fresh garlic chopped to the onions.....pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This is an excellent "comfort food" meal! It's quick and easy for a meal on the run..:) I recommend having it with homemade biscuits! Yum. I didn't have peas, so I used broccoli instead. Still delicious! Great job Granny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
It did not have much taste so I added some pepper and a beef cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
After reading other reviews, I changed it a bit by adding two beef bullion cubes, garlic salt, and Creole seasoning to the sauce, and about six small sliced boiled potatoes to the hamburger mixture. Came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Very tasty; very easy. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This recipe is nice when you just want to throw some things together on a semi busy week night. However, I thought it was bland so I suggest adding various spices to it to increase the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States