Creamed Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was good but I changed a bunch of things that I think made it a lot better. First I used left over roast beef that I cross cut so it made short fibers. I also added 1 tsp each of salt, pepper and tarragon and used frozen mixed vegetables instead of just peas. I cut back the milk to 3 cups and used 3 T corn starch instead of all that flour to thicken it. The tarragon really adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
For those of you who have found the receipe bland.... you need to make sure you are seasoning your beef as it cooks. I know the recipe doesn't say to but you should. You must cook your flour well. If you do not cook the flour in the butter long enough before you add the milk. You will taste the flour and the dish will be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My family makes this under the recipe title "Ground Meat and Peas" and serves it over mashed potatoes or bread. Only we use far less milk and do not drain the peas. This will increase the flavor quite a bit. Also when it says add salt and pepper to taste, it should really read, add a 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper, or more to taste. You really need the pepper in this dish. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe is one of my husband's favorites since we've been married, so I thought I should get around to saying so. You can help boost the flavor a lot by adding Worchesteshire sauce and seasoned salt to the beef/onions while browning, and then adding more seasoned salt to taste once the gravy thickens. Last time we added chopped green pepper to the beef/onion mix and it added some freshness - you can also use unfrozen peas instead of canned for fresher taste. The gravy does take a while to thicken, but it's worth the wait - just keep stirring over med heat. Thanks for posting this - it's an easy meal that makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I skipped the onions and peas cause I had neither- I added onion powder, garlic salt, a lot of salt and pepper and some crushed red pepper and served with corn. Ate over biscuits- perfect for winter comfort food. My whole family ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
no flavor! sure sounded good..added garlic seasonings to try to help after following recipe exactly...won't try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
There really wasn't a lot of flavor in this recipe. I wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Taste good easy to make and can have it for left overs because it makes a lot. I ate mine over mashed potatoes for dinner and over bread for lunch the next day. Hubby loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
We enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
My husband and I both liked this dish but we had it over buiscuts and skipped the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States