Creamed Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I needed to add another 1/4 cup flour and it was still runny but I didn't want to compromise the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made it last night; AMAZING!! I grew up on creamed peas & toast and this brought me right back to those times with a kick. Loved the addition of the beef! I seasoned my beef before hand with onion, garlic, salt & pepper. I also didn't have canned peas so I used frozen and enjoyed that burst of flavor. Served with mashed potatoes and had enough leftovers for lunch today on toast. This is a keeper and looking forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This really brought back my childhood, my Dad made this when he was in the Navy, and for us as kids. I added mushrooms and served it over sour cream and chive mashed potatoes! Comfort food at it's best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
After browning the meat, I drained it and sauteed one small sweet onion and about eight ounces of fresh mushrooms in the butter before adding the flour. I did need a little more butter because mushrooms do tend to suck up liquids. For a creamier sauce, I used half whole milk/half evaporated milk. I omitted the peas only because noone in this house likes them. I served this over toast. Everyone liked it, especially me. Pure comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Love this recipe - I did some alterations, about half the milk and flour, added some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. Then I spooned over egg noodles. I think next time, I will add some sour cream to the recipe and see how that works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I loved this... simple, good old fashioned, comfort home cooking. Took very little time and made a great meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Bland, other versions are better, peas do not go in creamed beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is a favorite go-to meal at our house. We serve it over toast or mashed potatoes. We don't drain the peas because we like the flavor it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have trouble getting my college brothers to eat anything these days...they couldn't get enough of this recipe! I didn't have onions, except green ones, so used those; and added corn and golden mushroom soup to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was good but I changed a bunch of things that I think made it a lot better. First I used left over roast beef that I cross cut so it made short fibers. I also added 1 tsp each of salt, pepper and tarragon and used frozen mixed vegetables instead of just peas. I cut back the milk to 3 cups and used 3 T corn starch instead of all that flour to thicken it. The tarragon really adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States