Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and it was great! Poured it on a couple of pancakes and topped it with two over easy fried eggs. Just the way I used to get it at midnight chow in the USAF (circa 1957-59) Johnson Air Base, Japan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elaine Groves Davis
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was amazing. I used more milk than the recipe called for and this will now be a new favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I've never heard of SOS. I loved it. Two of my three super picky kids loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe for my ailing 94 year old father and he ate it. He always talked about eating this in WWII and my mom used to make it frequently. He has not had it in years and I have been trying to cook things to entice him to eat. This recipe did it and I served it over real mashed potatoes. The trick is definitely the grease. I used a little more milk and a little more pepper. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Delicious! I used two cups of milk to get the creamy texture. Second time I made it, I added a cup and a half cooked cubed Yukon potatoes, worchestire sauce and a can of peas and diced carrots. Made a thick beefy stew. One time I added an envelope of dry onion soup mix. That added an awesome flavor. Either way, it's a hit at my house and so versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This came out great. I didn't really measure the ingredients, I adjusted on the fly for more servings. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meshoppen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made this today and there is a tiny bit leftover, but not much! I omitted garlic and bouillon because that's how my mom always made it, and added a 1/2 cup more milk. Terrific over split-open biscuits!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Never did I think my boyfriend was gonna go for this dish...but i remembered my dad making it for us, well...boyfriend liked it and so did I! It was easy, filling and very tasty.. We served it over toast, and now this is my go to meal for those nights when you just don't want to make something overly complicated!Thanks for posting, brought me back memories of my dad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
After reading the reviews I made some changes. I added fresh mushrooms and one onion. I fried them with the hamburger. I did not use the onion powder. And I added one package of brown gravy which made it creamier. I used seasonings to taste. My wife loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States