Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Elaine Groves Davis
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was amazing. I used more milk than the recipe called for and this will now be a new favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I've never heard of SOS. I loved it. Two of my three super picky kids loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe for my ailing 94 year old father and he ate it. He always talked about eating this in WWII and my mom used to make it frequently. He has not had it in years and I have been trying to cook things to entice him to eat. This recipe did it and I served it over real mashed potatoes. The trick is definitely the grease. I used a little more milk and a little more pepper. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Delicious! I used two cups of milk to get the creamy texture. Second time I made it, I added a cup and a half cooked cubed Yukon potatoes, worchestire sauce and a can of peas and diced carrots. Made a thick beefy stew. One time I added an envelope of dry onion soup mix. That added an awesome flavor. Either way, it's a hit at my house and so versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This came out great. I didn't really measure the ingredients, I adjusted on the fly for more servings. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meshoppen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made this today and there is a tiny bit leftover, but not much! I omitted garlic and bouillon because that's how my mom always made it, and added a 1/2 cup more milk. Terrific over split-open biscuits!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Never did I think my boyfriend was gonna go for this dish...but i remembered my dad making it for us, well...boyfriend liked it and so did I! It was easy, filling and very tasty.. We served it over toast, and now this is my go to meal for those nights when you just don't want to make something overly complicated!Thanks for posting, brought me back memories of my dad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
After reading the reviews I made some changes. I added fresh mushrooms and one onion. I fried them with the hamburger. I did not use the onion powder. And I added one package of brown gravy which made it creamier. I used seasonings to taste. My wife loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
My dad was an Army man, but my mom never made this at home. When I found the recipe, I had to try it. After my family decided they liked it, I called my dad to tell him I made "Army special" for dinner. He knew it was SOS right away! I am bringing him some tomorrow. BE SURE NOT TO ADD EXTRA SALT when making this. I used a spice blend that I use routinely, and forgot about the salt in that and the chicken bullion. I added more milk and cooked it a little longer to try to thin the saltiness, but it is still salty. We served it with biscuits, and my 15 year old football player ate 4 biscuits opened up with SOS on each side. Guess the extra salt is just replenishing his loss from workouts. ;) Next time we will try it with a hamburger and breakfast sausage mixture and serve it over hash brown patties as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States