Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I thought this tasted great for such a simple recipe. So quick and easy that it'll be an "I don't feel like cooking" staple from now on. I ended up adding much more milk, as the consistency was too thick for my taste, but I also kept it on the heat longer than I needed to, waiting for my side dish to be ready. I might play with draining the fat (at least partially) and adding in broth instead, even though it says not to, just to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made it just like the recipe and it was SO good! My husband loved it and that says a lot because I call him the Food Diva. My brother-in-law enjoyed it too. Everyone was stuffed and I would definitely make it again! The pepper gives it a nice kick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I used to make this all the time, but w/o the chicken bullion. I fixed it exactly like the recipe & it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I loved mess hall food when I was a young Marine and look forward to this memory!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt
Living In: Oakham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and this turned out wonderful! Quick, easy, delicious use of ground beef...it's a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Hamburger Gravy, is what we call it. We have been making this for years with the only difference being using fresh chopped onion and canned Evaporated milk. We sometimes use lean meat and add drippings saved from a roast. The kids love it and their perfect meal is mashed potatoes topped with the hamburger gravy and canned Le seur peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I am an Army brat and I have fond memories of my dad making SOS for me in the mornings before school when he was home. I used this recipe today and it was wonderful. Thank you so much for taking the time to put your recipe on here. I didn't drain the beef, but I did use extra lean hamburger meat so that there wasn't quite so much grease in the skillet. :) YUM! (And I think it is BEST over toast...the toastiness is nice with the gravy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is delicious! My whole family loves it, even my 8 year old daughter. I had an uncle that used to cook this for us at his lake house, but now I have the recipe and can make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is a favorite dish from my childhood and a go to recipe after Easter to use up hardboiled eggs, which we chop up and serve with the dish. I followed the seasonings listed in this recipe for the meat mixture, but followed my own recipe for the sauce. It was a happy mix and very delicious. Even my two pickiest children liked it!! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I usually make sausage gravy, but didn't have any sausage. However, I had some leftover ground beef that I needed to use, so I tried this recipe. It was very simple to make and very good! I double the amount of flour and milk to make extra gravy so that we could use it on some potatoes. I served the rest over biscuits. It thickened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States