Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
i only gave it 3 stars because i had to modify the recipe and i know the original way would have been better. i did not have milk so i used my back-up box of powdered milk. the gravy wasnt as good as i think it could have been. i addded onion and garlic to the beef. i also added some worcestershire sauce. there was still a little flavor lacking, so at the end, right before serving, i stirred in a few slices of cream cheese! it actually helped with the flavor and texture of the gravy. i will definitely make this again, but i will make sure i have milk the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have only had one other kind of SOS my mom used to make us all the time. It was awesome but this was even better!!!! I loved it!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!!! --Military Brat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Not a new recipe to me - but one that I hadn't made in a long time. One tip - if you let this sit and don't serve immediately, be prepared to add more milk. I also upped the flavor a bit by using finely diced red onion browned with the beef and added a small amount of worcestershire sauce plus fresh chopped parsley. Served over toast with sliced fresh tomatoes, this made a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I haven't had this since i was a kid...was good. didn't use the boullion though..too much salt so I salted as needed..used real onion and garlic chopped fine. Nothing fancy about it. that's why I only gave it 3 stars nothing bad about it either it is food and it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Total comfort food...yummy. I didn't think it was going to be thick enough but as it sat it got too thick. So next time I will either serve it right away or add some more milk. Served over whole wheat toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was good for a quick, "what am I gonna make with ground beef tonight" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCGiantsFan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I love it! My husband (who is a very picky eater) loves it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Finan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is Outstanding! I liked the creamed beef in the Marines but I can tell you it wasn't at all like this. My son who is picky, asks me to make it quite often. I usually put it over hash browns but it is so good I would eat off the bottom of the trash can. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I usually make sausage gravy, but didn't have any sausage. However, I had some leftover ground beef that I needed to use, so I tried this recipe. It was very simple to make and very good! I double the amount of flour and milk to make extra gravy so that we could use it on some potatoes. I served the rest over biscuits. It thickened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I did a little tweaking and added cream of mushroom soup to give it a little more gravy. This has become my daughter's new favorite dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States