Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I haven't had this since i was a kid...was good. didn't use the boullion though..too much salt so I salted as needed..used real onion and garlic chopped fine. Nothing fancy about it. that's why I only gave it 3 stars nothing bad about it either it is food and it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Total comfort food...yummy. I didn't think it was going to be thick enough but as it sat it got too thick. So next time I will either serve it right away or add some more milk. Served over whole wheat toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was good for a quick, "what am I gonna make with ground beef tonight" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCGiantsFan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I love it! My husband (who is a very picky eater) loves it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Finan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is Outstanding! I liked the creamed beef in the Marines but I can tell you it wasn't at all like this. My son who is picky, asks me to make it quite often. I usually put it over hash browns but it is so good I would eat off the bottom of the trash can. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I usually make sausage gravy, but didn't have any sausage. However, I had some leftover ground beef that I needed to use, so I tried this recipe. It was very simple to make and very good! I double the amount of flour and milk to make extra gravy so that we could use it on some potatoes. I served the rest over biscuits. It thickened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I did a little tweaking and added cream of mushroom soup to give it a little more gravy. This has become my daughter's new favorite dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I have not actually used this recipe, but with the exception of the onion powder the ingredients are exactly the same as my version, but I cooke mine differently. I'm an army brat and have been eating this dish for 40 years. My kids eat it and always ask for it. We usually eat it for breakfast but sometimes have it for dinner. Having made it for years I don't measure but I cook the ground beef adding salt and garlic powder or adobo seasoning, then drain it. I remove the beef from the pan and make a roux with flour and butter, stir in mik plus water or chicken broth. I add chicken boullion paste to the sauce, seasoning to taste, and then add the beef back to the sauce. Really good over buttered toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Simple and tasty! My toddler took one bite..inspected it with great interest, then ate her entire portion saying "mmmm". This is a keeper for a quick and easy meal. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was pretty good. Liked the seasonings, I also added 1/2 tsp. kosher salt. And I added another 1/2 cup of milk to make it a little thinner. The only problem I had with this was it being too greasy. I would definitely recommend using lean beef (mine was not lean). Or maybe draining the grease off and using 1/4 cup butter in place of the grease. Still a great, simple and inexpensive meal. We served it with mashed potatoes and toast. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States