Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
i only gave it 3 stars because i had to modify the recipe and i know the original way would have been better. i did not have milk so i used my back-up box of powdered milk. the gravy wasnt as good as i think it could have been. i addded onion and garlic to the beef. i also added some worcestershire sauce. there was still a little flavor lacking, so at the end, right before serving, i stirred in a few slices of cream cheese! it actually helped with the flavor and texture of the gravy. i will definitely make this again, but i will make sure i have milk the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have only had one other kind of SOS my mom used to make us all the time. It was awesome but this was even better!!!! I loved it!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!!! --Military Brat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Not a new recipe to me - but one that I hadn't made in a long time. One tip - if you let this sit and don't serve immediately, be prepared to add more milk. I also upped the flavor a bit by using finely diced red onion browned with the beef and added a small amount of worcestershire sauce plus fresh chopped parsley. Served over toast with sliced fresh tomatoes, this made a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I haven't had this since i was a kid...was good. didn't use the boullion though..too much salt so I salted as needed..used real onion and garlic chopped fine. Nothing fancy about it. that's why I only gave it 3 stars nothing bad about it either it is food and it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Total comfort food...yummy. I didn't think it was going to be thick enough but as it sat it got too thick. So next time I will either serve it right away or add some more milk. Served over whole wheat toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was good for a quick, "what am I gonna make with ground beef tonight" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCGiantsFan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I love it! My husband (who is a very picky eater) loves it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Finan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is Outstanding! I liked the creamed beef in the Marines but I can tell you it wasn't at all like this. My son who is picky, asks me to make it quite often. I usually put it over hash browns but it is so good I would eat off the bottom of the trash can. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I usually make sausage gravy, but didn't have any sausage. However, I had some leftover ground beef that I needed to use, so I tried this recipe. It was very simple to make and very good! I double the amount of flour and milk to make extra gravy so that we could use it on some potatoes. I served the rest over biscuits. It thickened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I did a little tweaking and added cream of mushroom soup to give it a little more gravy. This has become my daughter's new favorite dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States