Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I have not actually used this recipe, but with the exception of the onion powder the ingredients are exactly the same as my version, but I cooke mine differently. I'm an army brat and have been eating this dish for 40 years. My kids eat it and always ask for it. We usually eat it for breakfast but sometimes have it for dinner. Having made it for years I don't measure but I cook the ground beef adding salt and garlic powder or adobo seasoning, then drain it. I remove the beef from the pan and make a roux with flour and butter, stir in mik plus water or chicken broth. I add chicken boullion paste to the sauce, seasoning to taste, and then add the beef back to the sauce. Really good over buttered toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Simple and tasty! My toddler took one bite..inspected it with great interest, then ate her entire portion saying "mmmm". This is a keeper for a quick and easy meal. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was pretty good. Liked the seasonings, I also added 1/2 tsp. kosher salt. And I added another 1/2 cup of milk to make it a little thinner. The only problem I had with this was it being too greasy. I would definitely recommend using lean beef (mine was not lean). Or maybe draining the grease off and using 1/4 cup butter in place of the grease. Still a great, simple and inexpensive meal. We served it with mashed potatoes and toast. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
4 1/2 this was pretty great, I chose it as it seemed to have the most flavor of all the SOS recipes. I followed the ingredients and was very pleased, the flavors were yummers. I served it over toast, which was good. Next time, i will make it so there is more gravy and try it over noodles. I thought about changing the chicken bouillon for beef, but decided to try it as meant to be, and glad I did. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is a favorite dish from my childhood and a go to recipe after Easter to use up hardboiled eggs, which we chop up and serve with the dish. I followed the seasonings listed in this recipe for the meat mixture, but followed my own recipe for the sauce. It was a happy mix and very delicious. Even my two pickiest children liked it!! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I thought this tasted great for such a simple recipe. So quick and easy that it'll be an "I don't feel like cooking" staple from now on. I ended up adding much more milk, as the consistency was too thick for my taste, but I also kept it on the heat longer than I needed to, waiting for my side dish to be ready. I might play with draining the fat (at least partially) and adding in broth instead, even though it says not to, just to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is delicious! My whole family loves it, even my 8 year old daughter. I had an uncle that used to cook this for us at his lake house, but now I have the recipe and can make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
It was fine, just nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Nice flavor, this actually had some flavor unlike some SOS recipes. I had to add another half cup of milk though as this was too thick. This makes a fast and easy dinner. We are going out of town and needed to use up the milk and bread and this did both. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I used to make this all the time, but w/o the chicken bullion. I fixed it exactly like the recipe & it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States