Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I ate SOS almost every day for breakfast in the army for over 20 years, if it was avail. I just love the stuff. note that chicken bouilon is not part of the armys version of creamed beef, and this one is also missing worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Farmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
my dad was in the Army 42 years ago and loved the SOS. He loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was excellent. My husband loved it. However I did make a couple of additions to match our tastes. I added a slice of diced red onion to the cooking meat mixture, and a couple of dashes of worcestershire sauce when I added milk. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I did have to use 2 cups of milk instead of just 1 1/2 cups, but that was expected from other reviews. Overall I will be making this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francina Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was just okay. The flavor really wasn't there and it was so thick that it just sat so heavy on my stomach. Also the pepper somehow over powered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I grew up eating this...my mother was the worst cook, but this was so easy to make that even she got it right. Im making it for the family tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
VERY GOOD! Mine turned out to be very thick though. Most likely my fault because I did use more than 1 pd. beef. My husband loved it! will make again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueduff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! And so very tasty!! Although I was leery of using chicken bouillon, I am so glad I did, and followed the recipe exactly as written. This is, by far, the BEST recipe for SOS!!! Wish my dad, who was a WWII Air Corp veteran, was still with us to taste it. (He used to mix the flour in before browning, and, although delicious, his was a little too greasy for my liking.) This version allowed me to drain what little grease there was (I used ground round), and it still came out awesome!!! My husband insisted on seconds!!!! Thank you SO much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
very good and stix to ya ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I just made SOS with 1 lb. ground venison, 2 1/2 cups milk, 1 cup flour, pepper, and herbed salt (A. Vogel Herbamare). It's delicious! Blightie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Great meal quick and easy. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States