Creamed Beef for SOS Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Connie Osment Dalton
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made this tonight. I did it exactly like the recipe said except I did use two cups of milk, which I thought made just the right consistency. It was absolutely delicious! Who would think something so simple could taste so good. The blend of seasonings is perfect~ Can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Osment Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I condiser myself a connoiseur of creamed beef, chipped beef, etc. The only recommendation I would add is a trick to not overdoing the flour amount is to add a half cup of milk once the burger has browned, bring it to a low boil and then add the flour, whisking in one tablespoon at a time. This allows you to get the consistency right instead of back pedaling. Add more milk and flour as desired but ut the milk in first. Otherwise it can and more often than not will get lumpy. Enjoy! Ah!, the smell of diesel fuel in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I added fresh mushrooms and some red pepper flakes. I had to use more milk cause it tasted to much like flour without the extra. Was good, but not sure I would make it again. Just not something I would want to eat on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I have made this so many times before. The lady that told me how to make this called it hamburger gravy. I guess there was more milk added to make it creamier. But I have put it over rice, noodles, toast, biscuits etc. you get the point it is very versatile. I have even used ground sausage and made it for breakfast over biscuits. Very good. Love this recipe it is the best way to make a white gravy when you are using sausage or hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stprkr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very hearty, stick-to-your ribs comfort food. Made it exactly as written (used 73/27 ground beef) and it was very tasty. May increase seasoning a bit next time. I was worried it would be really peppery, but I actually couldn't really taste the pepper. The spices were all nicely balanced, and not one flavor overpowered another, so if I do increase the seasoning, I'd keep them at the same ratio to each other. :::EDIT::: I made this again with slightly leaner beef (80/20) and the sauce was WAY too thick this time around without that extra fat to soak up the flour. It still tasted great (I did double the seasoning this time), but I think in the future when using 80/20 ground chuck I'll reduce the flour to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I ate SOS almost every day for breakfast in the army for over 20 years, if it was avail. I just love the stuff. note that chicken bouilon is not part of the armys version of creamed beef, and this one is also missing worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
my dad was in the Army 42 years ago and loved the SOS. He loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was excellent. My husband loved it. However I did make a couple of additions to match our tastes. I added a slice of diced red onion to the cooking meat mixture, and a couple of dashes of worcestershire sauce when I added milk. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I did have to use 2 cups of milk instead of just 1 1/2 cups, but that was expected from other reviews. Overall I will be making this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francina Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was just okay. The flavor really wasn't there and it was so thick that it just sat so heavy on my stomach. Also the pepper somehow over powered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I grew up eating this...my mother was the worst cook, but this was so easy to make that even she got it right. Im making it for the family tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States