Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Don't ask me why, but I was craving cream of tomato soup when I woke up this morning. Granted, it is the heart of summer in Washington DC, almost 100 degrees outside and MUGGY MUGGY MUGGY. Doesn't everyone crave soup in these conditions? Well I must say this hit the spot. I caramelized a giant red onion as others suggested (place onions in the butter, turn heat to low, and cook onions until they begin to stick together, about 20 minutes), added a can of 'stewed tomatoes with celery and bell pepper' when the onions were done, then followed the recipe exactly. I used Campbells Tomato Juice and I used whole milk for a very creamy flavor. My craving for soup in the midst of July was satisfied! This is delicious! (I wish I had some bread and cheese... grilled cheese would be the perfect accompaniment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Wow! Easy and by far the best homemade tomato soup I have ever had. I did use garden tomatoes though. I used 3lbs of fresh tomatoes, cored, peeled and then I let them run in the food processor on high for 4 minutes. I used that instead of juice. It had a few seeds that didn't get pulverized but it certainly didn't hurt the soup at all. Also, I added about 1/4 cup of fresh basil chopped up at the point I added the tomato and I let that cook in with it and I used a pinch of baking soda and a tablespoon of sugar to help reduce the acid in the soup. I didn't do it this time but you can also substitute whipping cream for the milk to make it a little more rich. All I can say is awesome Julie! A frozen pizza darn near takes longer to cook than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This recipe was super easy! I did make a few changes - I didn't have any onion on hand so I used minced garlic (about 1 TB or more). Also, I added the milk (only 1 1/2 cups as other reviewers suggested) to the roux first and heated it till it thickened, then I added the tomato juice. It tastes very good and was definately worth the effort. The perfect addition to a grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This soup was fabulous!! I substituted V-8 Juice for the tomato juice for a little extra spice and it turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My wife suggested cream of tomato soup and this was my first experience making it. I added a carrot, a clove of garlic, and a stalk of celery to the onion sautee and pureed it along with some of the milk and tomato juice before adding it to the roux. Made the roux with the flour and a little corn meal(masarepa) to make it thicker. Also substituted some light cream for some of the milk, and served it topped with fresh, chopped basil and fresh black pepper. No extra salt was required because the tomato juice was salted. Excellent, thick and creamy. Great on a cold, damp day with roasted potato wedges, crusty bread, and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is the same recipe I learned in grade 7 home-ec 30 years ago. I still made it from the original recipe card. Easy to make changes depending on your mood...garlic, fresh tomato, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
WOW, easy and GOOD! I have made many soups, but not tomato, because I thought the Campbell's soup was just about the way a tomato soup should taste. THIS recipe is GOOD, better than the canned (duh!) YUM! My young daughter even raved about it! A pinch of dried basil added really completed the taste! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
In South Korea it is very hard to find canned soup. This recipe is a really easy alternative to canned tomato soup and my English class really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is a very good soup recipe. I added about a tablespoon of sugar to knock off the sour edge of the soup and it was great. In order to keep the milk from cooling the soup down, I microwaved it until warm before adding it to the soup. I also carmalized my onions in the butter on low heat before adding the flour. This also helped give the soup a little bit more sweetness and the flour didn't taste raw. Great with a grilled cheese sandwich, and garnish the soup with a sprig of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrier Mills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Thank you for posting the recipe..I used 1 quart of canned tomatoes and a pinch of baking soda for the acid..great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States