Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I loved it, but my kids' review was mixed. Of course, who can compete with Campbells? Maybe if I add a little corn syrup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sunman, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a very good base for an excellent soup. I added a dash of garlic powder, sugar, and tarragon for flavor. It was superb with some Italian croutons thrown in. Here is a great tip I've learned too: whenever a recipe calls for tomato juice, I always use plain canned tomato sauce instead and add some water. It is really the same thing---just much, much cheaper---and I don't have to worry about it going to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I needed a last minute tomato soup recipe and only had dry chopped onion in the pantry. Using ~3/4 cup of chopped onion, a dash of garlic powder, and a dash of basil, this turned out to be an excellent and very easy to prepare meal! I would have given the soup we had a "4", because I opted to strain out some of the onion pieces mid-meal, so I'm assuming that with fresh onions as the recipe calls for it would be a "5" as I noted here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is my recipe, and I use home canned tomatoes from my garden. I was on weight watchers when I added this, otherwise I would have added heavy cream instead of milk. This soup is great with a grilled cheese sandwich or grated hard cheese and home made croutons on top. It is also a great base to jazz up with your favs. Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrier Mills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
The soup was pretty good, though it needed a ilttle bit more "taste". I was thinking of basil, pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Great way to use up some tomato juice that might be sitting in your fridge. I used skim milk to cut down on some calories, and added some mini-stars pasta for some interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I didn't think this tasted any better than the canned variety. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is a lovely basic soup recipe; one of those kinds that can take you right back to your childhood. I didn't change a thing with the recipe, but served it with a dash of garlic powder, basil and cheese over the top. I will definitely make this again as I appreciated how very quick and easy it was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nantes, Pays De La Loire, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
My husband called this the best tomato soup he's ever tasted, and I agreed. I added some celery and made sure the onions were nice and brown before making the roux. I also used half & half and a generous amount of Penzey's pasta sprinkle (oregano, thyme, basil & garlic). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My wife suggested cream of tomato soup and this was my first experience making it. I added a carrot, a clove of garlic, and a stalk of celery to the onion sautee and pureed it along with some of the milk and tomato juice before adding it to the roux. Made the roux with the flour and a little corn meal(masarepa) to make it thicker. Also substituted some light cream for some of the milk, and served it topped with fresh, chopped basil and fresh black pepper. No extra salt was required because the tomato juice was salted. Excellent, thick and creamy. Great on a cold, damp day with roasted potato wedges, crusty bread, and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States