Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Instead of tomato juice--which I never have on hand. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes, and 2 T of tomato paste and enough water to make the liquid total for 4 servings. Than I took only the tomatoes and added them after the flour was added and cooked them for about 3 mins. Then I added the remaining liquid simmered until boiling--blended with my stick blender. I added the milk and some basil and parmesan cheese too it was delish! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I am giving this 5 stars because it is a good base recipe I added sugar to sweeten it for that good Campbell's taste. Some might want to add garlic and herbs to make it more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is some good soup.I used half and half for the milk(made it creamier),stewed tomato,fresh basil and parsley plus a big spoon(lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is sooo good I have given it to my celiac friends and they agreeFreezes well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I too used a can of whole tomatoes and pureed them, 2 cups of milk and 8 oz. of half and half, it was delicious. I will keep canned tomatoes on hand from now on and make my own tomato soup, it's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdwatcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this! I loved the onions which added a bit of crunch and I also made brown rice and added a dollop to each bowl before putting in the soup. Topped with a little grated parmesan cheese. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This recipe has potential, but as is, it's just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My soup was not creamy, more like tomato juice with onions. Can't figure out if the mistake was using fresh tomatoes pureed or how I cooked it on the stove. Maybe I'll attempt it again, maybe not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this exactly as directed and was a little disappointed. I found the tomato juice taste very strong. And I am an onion lover but not in my cream soup. I think next time I will add onion salt and leave out the onions and salt. And I think leaving it to cool for 10 minutes then adding milk makes for a cool soup, instead of a hot 1. We had to heat it back up. Will make again, but with mild changes. Sorry if I offended the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
We did not like this. The onions were overpowering (even with a lot of cooking beforehand) and the soup just wasn't creamy enough. I'd rather put in the extra work to make a good creamy soup or just eat the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States