Cream of Tomato Soup with Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I made it with fresh garlic and onions. This was ok. Not one of my top ten favorite soups though. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great, easy soup! I decided not to blend mine at the last minute (surprise!), so I added just a little cornstarch mixed with water to bind it a bit. I would probably not reduce the chicken broth next time, as the soup got a little salty for me. Still, excellent busy workday meal with Parmesan & Basil Chicken Salad from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
While this is very good, it is also a fairly common tomato soup recipe with the standard chicken broth, tomatoes and cream. It's certainly easy to throw together in a pinch with pantry staples, but if you want to really make this special use homemade chicken broth (I had some in the freezer), homemade marinara (also in my freezer, put up from my garden) and heavy cream rather than the half and half. I did use the half and half this time for comparison's sake and found that the soup is just not as good as it is with rich, heavy cream - and for some reason it even looks better made with cream too! Loved the pesto swirl at the end -again, I used homemade that I'd frozen. Reducing the chicken broth really isn't necessary, and I don't add the cream until after the tomatoes and broth have simmered a bit. Great soup for little time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, added about 1/4C parmesan cheese to the pot, more like a 1/4C or so of basil pesto and coarsely crushed black pepper. It was pretty runny for a tomato soup, so I added 1TB of cornstarch mixed with 1TB of water to thicken it up. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Wonderful- I topped it with homemade creama and manchengo cheese. Served with warm sour dough french bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This wasn't bad. I'd give it 3 1/2 stars if I could. I don't know if I will make it again, it is runny and I like a thicker tomato soup. I did like the flavor that the pesto added to the soup. I think I will make a different recipe (I like the Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup recipe on this site) and add some pesto. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Good and fast tomato soup. I forgot to add the pesto and I'm sure it would be even better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Wonderful! Only warning, I substituted whole milk for the cream(Cream is much better, just didn't have any in the house). If you also happen to substitute, do not add milk until soup has cooled. Otherwise you'll have curdled milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I sautéed an onion in the saucepot first and then added the stock and tomatoes. Rather than waiting for the chicken stock to reduce by 1/3 I drained the tomatoes to save time and I did also use closer to ¼ cup pesto. The hand blender worked perfectly to puree it right in the pot and the soup was delicious! Perfect for a rainy day! Next time I might have it with a grilled cheese sandwich and garnish with some fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
we fixed this recipe ALOT. instead of half and half we used grated cheese curd. that was a wondeful addition. we would also recommend more pesto. another change we made was putting orzo into the soup. it was a bit thin so we thought orzo might spice it up a bit. it sure did! definetly put orzo into this, it adds SO much to the flavor. best of all, this soup was fast and easy!!! we will definetly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSGfood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States