Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I made this soup for rmy family and they LOVED it! I, too, substituted mik (1%) for the cream & I used a 900ml box of low sodium chicken broth.. The consistency of the soup was perfect - thick but not glooey. I was generous with the cayenne pepper as we all love spice and the contraxt with the slightly sweet flavor was excellent. We will make it again, certainly, and would not hesitate to serve it to guests. If you like sweet potatotes, you will love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
After deciding the soup was much too sweet, I decided to change it up. Rather than cook the sweet potato before integrating the savoury ingredients, I peeled and chopped it up into chunks. I then sautéed garlic, onion, coriander, and green onions. I added the sweet potato, then the chicken broth and cooked it until it was soft enough to puree. I added the whole thing to a blender..made into a pure texture..took it back to the stove and added the rest of the spices (nutmeg, salt, pepper, and only 2 tablespoons of brown sugar). I let it simmer..added the cream and served. Much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is my new favorite easy soup recipe. It takes about 5 minutes to throw together, then I just pour from the blender to the slow cooker and put on low. My mods were, added fresh ginger to the blender - about 1 tbsp. Also used 1 tbsp molasses instead of the sugar. Used veggie broth and no cream for a vegan soup. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Made this for a friend recovering from surgery - she loved it! Substituted dairy free coconut milk creamer for the cream because of a dairy allergy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I love this recipe! I've made my own slight tweak of it, just for the sake of using less dishes. I cut up and boil my sweet potatoes in the chicken stock. Then I add my spices/brown sugar, mix those in using a wooden spoon so that the sweet potatoes start to mash. Then I refrigerate it till dinner time. Then I puree the whole thing with my blender before reheating the potato mixture and finally adding the cream at the end. My husband adores this recipe as well, and we love eating it with a bit of toasted brioche on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was an awesome recipe, but due to the fact we have little time in our busy house, we made a short cut which turned out perfect. instead of baking the potatoes we peeled cut to small pieces and then put all ingredience except the cream in a big pot and let boil for 40 mins. then pureed till smooth with hand blender. Then stirred n cream and let sit for 10 mins and served. It saved us 1 hour of time and turned out perfectly. I will make it again the same way. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnOurOwnAgain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hope
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very tasty! I had sweet potato soup at a fancy restaurant and decided to try to make it at home. This recipe came awful close to what I had at the restaurant. I boiled the potatoes rather than baked them, and then used less chicken broth b/c I wanted a thicker soup. After that, I was happy with the consistency and taste, so didn't add dairy. It probably would have jazzed it up a bit, but I was already pleased with how it tasted! I also added some sliced almonds and dried cranberries on top of the soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
What did I think of this? I think that it's awesome! Since becoming a widower, as much as I used to enjoy cooking up nice dinners for the two of us, cooking for one most nights became almost a bit of a necessity rather that a pleasure. So I just look for easy, relatively quick and at least somewhat healthy things to whip up- and this fits the bill to a T. As one person suggested, I just cook up the sweet potatoes in the chicken both- much easier and still as tasty, and then follow the recipe from there. I've also started to add a good-sized shallot, diced up and simmered it for the last couple of minutes before blending it all together in the pot. Subbed dried red pepper flakes for the cayenne- personal preference only- and it all turns out wonderfully. Quick, easy, tasty. What else is there? Thanks, Zoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe completely. It is wonderful. I'm picky and this is the first recipe in a long time that I will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This soup was amazing, i would add a bit less brown suger, had it with fresh rolls, very filling and a great dinner with out the meat. vegitarians would love this,and high in vitiamines too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States