Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Not that great, was bland & nobody in my family liked it...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather May Hinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I used 2 large sweet potatoes and microwaved them for 15 minutes to cut down on time, a 32 oz. box of chicken broth, and added 1/4 tsp. of ground ginger. I also added 1/4 cup of creamy peanut butter. No cream needed! Total cooking time was less than 30 minutes. Delicious!! Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I thought that this recipe was easy and good. I did however tweek it a little with things that I like. I roasted a head of garlic with the potatoes and sauted some onions, and blended that with the sweet potatoes. I did leave out the cream/milk I thought it was creamy enough. I also took the advice from other and added red pepper flakes instead, and very little brown suger. Its a great easy recipe that you can add your own flare to!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This soup is AWESOME and was so creamy! I just boiled the sweet potatoes in the chicken broth (I used much less than recipe called for... bout 36oz), with some chopped onion and then used an emulsifier while adding the other ingredients. Plus, used smart balance 1% milk instead of cream and it worked great and is much healthier! I'm definitely making this again and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes sweet potatoes! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My husband was going to open a can of soup because he did not think he would like this. I made him have a taste with a slice of homemade beer bread from this site, he put the can away and got himself a bowl. Very yummy. I used half and half instead of cream and I could not find my nutmeg so I used ginger, oh, and i only used 4 cups of chicken broth instead of 3 cans. thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
this recipe made a great soup and was easy to add or omit any ingredients to taste....thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Very easy to make. A lot of flavor. I used my own chicken stock which gave it more flavor. Next time I will skip the one or the other peppers. You don't need both. I like it spicey but others may not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Great soup! I didn't even add the cream and it was creamy! Healthy and full of flavour! A definite repeat in my kitchen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was really great, and it was exactly what I had been craving. Here are my adjustments: I used skim milk instead of cream (what I had on hand, & wanted to keep fat down), crushed red pepper instead of cayenne (what I had on hand), and added a sprinkle of dried ground ginger. It had just the right amount of bite to tease the palate but certainly would not be classified as spicy. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This soup was very easy to make, and very good though I did have to substitute 1 can of vegetable broth as I only had two chicken broths in the pantry.I feel this made no difference to the taste; I also warmed the broth before blending it in the food processor with the sweet potatoes. I brought the recipe to work the next day to share with co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States