Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made it with half and half and I think it was better than when I made previously with the heavier cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is an excellent, easy "go to" soup recipe! I've made it about 10 times now, and it's always excellent. I have made a few changes on occasion: I leave out the cayenne (I never buy it, don't care for it). Sometimes I use veggie broth instead of chicken, depending on what i have on hand. Last time I added a bit of apple cider and it was also delicious. Once in a while I change up the spices - I might add a bit of ginger and cinnamon, or even some curry. As is or with any of those little changes, it always turns out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
very creamy and tasty! Perfect for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamagillett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I tried to re-create a soup I tried in a restaurant and this was good, but not over-the-top excellent. I upped the amount of brown sugar and added a tablespoon of white sugar to sweeten it up since it was somewhat bland. I used skim milk instead of cream. My boyfriend really enjoyed this and wants me to make again. Also, I microwaved my sweet potatoes to speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
My family loved it. I added 1/2 brown sugar and apx 2 cups more chicken broth, mine was very thick due to my very large sweet potatoes. I also used fat free milk per comment suggestions. Again, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made this tonight. It was simple and delicious. No leftovers. I served it with a home made loaf of french bread. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very tasty... don't change anything in this recipe. I actually wanted a little more texture so I added canned shoestring beets (not pickled). Very pretty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great recipe! I doubled the nutmeg and also added a teaspoon of cinnamon, which added a nice kick to the end of every spoonful. To soften the potatoes, I just microwaved them together on one plate for about 10 minutes before pureeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My family loved this soup. I used milk instead of cream, other than that made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Excellent and quick idea for supper and doesn't require much in the way of things to buy. I just kept adding the spices until it tasted just right to me. I will make this again. No adjustments were necessary. Thanks Zoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States