Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
It was a little on the sweet side, next time I'd use less sugar. My husband who hates sweet potatoes liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This soup is delicious and quite easy to make. For some reason mine turned out a bit lumpy though. I don't know if this has to do with the fact that I boiled my potatoes first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I liked how easy the recipe is and that I could use things I had onhand to make it. I used leftover sweet potato casserole that I blended in the blender first. The recipe was very adaptable. I liked trying the mix-in of a lil peanut butter in my serving. I wish that I'd had the low-sodium broth to get rid of the salty after taste. I added a few cashews for a garnish. I'll try cinnamon or ginger for some extra spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I had a hard time with this soup. I liked it and I didn't like it, how about that for wishy washy! The soup was exactly what it was supposed to be, but I didn't love the sweetness of the sweet potato in the soup. "What exactly were you expecting", you ask? "When you make sweet potato soup", you say, "it is supposed to taste like sweet potatoes". Okay, so it doesn't make sense, but I still didn't love it. The soup had a nice texture and good sweet flavor, but for me to really like it, it would have needed to get a little more savory. The addition of sauteed onion or more chicken flavor might have saved it for me, or maybe adding one regular potato to mellow it out, but it was just too "sweet potatoey". I think I will stick to less assertive vegetables for my soups, like butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Delicious! Slightly sweet, creamy, and delicately flavored. This was a hit at dinner last night with my boyfriend and can't wait to serve this at Thanksgiving dinner! Thanks for an EASY and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is really good. I made the following changes: I did this in my slow cooker: peel/cut up the sweet potatoes and put in the crock pot with broth/water, brown sugar, nutmeg and pepper. Low for 6 hours. Then use immersion blender to puree, add whole milk, and mix with immersion blender again. Enjoy! Am going to try with apples instead of brown sugar - will post my modification if it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I realized after I was almost finished making this that I didnt have any nutmeg so I am not sure what I am missing in this dish without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
If you like sweet potatoes this is the soup for you! It is amazing! We added about 1/8cup extra brown sugar and left out the pepper (not a fan) but didn't change anything else about it. I wanted more the second it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made it with half and half and I think it was better than when I made previously with the heavier cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is an excellent, easy "go to" soup recipe! I've made it about 10 times now, and it's always excellent. I have made a few changes on occasion: I leave out the cayenne (I never buy it, don't care for it). Sometimes I use veggie broth instead of chicken, depending on what i have on hand. Last time I added a bit of apple cider and it was also delicious. Once in a while I change up the spices - I might add a bit of ginger and cinnamon, or even some curry. As is or with any of those little changes, it always turns out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States