Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter and it was amazing! Simple to make,I baked the potatoes for 8 minutes(turn the potato over halfway through the cooking time.) Both my boyfriend and I loved it,he asked me if I can make it once a week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is delicious. I didn't have a way to puree so I just boiled and whisked/mashed. Next time, I might not use heavy cream, as it was a bit heavy. I served it hot because I didn't have time to cool it but the next day, it was delicious cool. I didn't have standalone nutmeg so I used an apple pie spice that made for some cool flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Nice, but not my favorite sweet potato soup. I found it a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe!!! Very easy and the taste is so good. Instead of baking the potatoes I boil them. I boil them until they get semi soft to the point I can peel off the outer layer very easily. If you are more into super sweetness, then use very little cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This has quickly become a family favorite. Super easy to make and tastes delicious even when cutting a few corners! (I boil them instead of baking them.) Also, we added shrimp and a pinch of ginger. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleJax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Super easy, amazingly elegant. I microwaved the sweet potatoes. I am glad I did not include the sugar. The little touch of cayenne gave it an intriguing touch without making it overtly spicy. I will definitely make this again as directed, but I want to experiment with ginger and curry, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Family loved it! I used 4 large sweet potatoes, a carton of chicken broth (28 oz), 3/4 cup half & half, about 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and about 1/4 tsp of ginger. also used a little more brown sugar and nutmeg than recipe calls for as I made a larger amount. It had a little "kick" which was perfect for me as I do not like spicy food and perfect for husband who does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It's nice to see healthy sweet potatoes as the main ingredient in a dish aside from just the Thanksgiving sides and this recipe fills the bill. I made the following adjustments: used 1/3 c FF evaporated milk instead of the cream, and added roasted pumpkin seeds as a garnish. Served with fresh pita chips. DELISH! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It was rather par, but I feel like it was more on our execution than the actual recipe. I'll be trying again and it will hopefully be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was interesting. It was good, but not fabulous as many of the reviews stated. Kind of an odd mix of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States