Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I have made this recipe twice, and I love it. There are several things I did the second time around that made it better (all gathered from other reviewers) 1. I used about 1 lb of fresh spinach and blended the spinach mixture. 2. Used 2 cups milk & 1 cup heavy cream 3. Used fresh onion and garlic 4. Added a dash of Celery Salt, Cayanne Pepper, nutmeg, and thyme 5. Mixed in about 1/4 cup Parmasean Cheese. Most of these ideas came from other reviews. Combining them all together makes a really good soup (and not bland at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Following the recipe as is I would only rate this 3 out of 5 stars. Do the following and its definately a 5 star recipe. I thought it was too plain. Take out the water and bouilloon; use chicken broth instead (better & fuller flavor) Use 2 cups of half & half and 1 cup of milk. Substitute 1/4 cup fresh minced onion instead of dried. Add 2 cup of shredded swiss cheese. 1. Saute onion in butter in large saucepan until onion is soft. 2. Add 1/4 c flour, wisk with butter and onion until well mixed. Pour in chicken broth, wisking rapidly to ensure everything mixes well. 3. Add spinach. Bring to a boil. 4. Add cream & milk. 5. Add cheese, stirring constantly until all cheese is melted. 6. Season to taste. (I also added two drops of roasted habinaro sauce which has a really nice flavor without making it spicy. I hate black pepper so I use other peppers) This soup was very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
OMG, this is so good. I have made this soup sooo many times! I've use just broccoli; 1/2 broccoli 1/2 spinach; combo of broccoli and cauliflower; cauliflower, broccoli and spinach. I have used chopped, whole and fresh spinach and had good results each time. I don't really measure, it's just what I have on hand. Never fails and always comes out good. Usually when I add broccoli to the spinach or cauliflower it just tastes like cream of broccoli. Also, I usually put 1/2 cup frozen chopped onions in with the veggies and don't use the minced onions at the end. I also use a hand blender and make the soup nice and creamy. It's such a quick and easy soup. I always have the stuff on hand so I can whip it up in a moments notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is delicious, and the perfect compliment is shredded parmesan cheese. It's great with toasted garlic bread. Like others I caramelized red onion in the butter, added a few red pepper flakes, and used chicken stock instead of the water and boullion. Also I threw the cooked spinach and broth and a cup of the cold milk in the blender (be careful after you initially start the blender with the lid on as you need to allow the steam to escape or the blender might explode).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Excellent soup. I used half and half (in place of milk), veg. "chicken" boullion, fresh spinach, and also threw in some brocoli. Put half the mixture in the blender for variation of texture. I was able to get my kids to eat their spinach & brocoli! Can't wait to make it again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
oh Lordie!! i was just surfing around ALLRECIPES for spinach recipes and encountered this. i had some frozen cut-leaf spinach and a ton of milk that was gonna go bad in 2 days so i said, "why not? it got good ratings". so i busted out all the ingredients. and mind you, the milk i had was the 1% milk fat, lowfat milk so i was expecting it to taste mediocre since it wasn't heavy cream or anything. but to my surprise it was wonderful!! i was even hesitant since it used water and chicken bouillon but the taste was so good, even better than the can! the one thing that i changed was that i used 2 chicken bouillon and 1 veggie bouillion and added a little water (2 TB) and cornstarch (1 TB) to make it even thicker. (i love thick soup). i also used frozen cut leaf spinach since i didn't have the whole chopped frozen spinach but i liked it even better because the spinach was more tender. so overall this recipe gets 5 kick- stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Yummmmmmy! I used fresh spinach and also sauted a little onion and mushrooms. Used 1% milk and it thickened just fine. Also added 3/4 tsp. mild curry powder, 1 & 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/4 white pepper. Great recipe!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
We absolutely love this recipe! We've made it many times, and it turns out great every time. The only thing we do different, is to put the spinach/bouillon/water mixture into the food processor after it has cooked, until smooth and pretty green. We like the looks a little better, and then you don't have strings of spinach hanging over your spoon while eating. :) Great recipe and perfect with a loaf of fresh french bread or cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FBURGAGGIE00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Excellent recipe! I don't know what else to say but it was fast, easy, and so delicious! THANKS! UPDATE: I wanted to say here it is more then 5 years after I rated this the 1st time, and I still make this soup and people still LOVE it! I use fresh onions and garlic in it and its just such a great soup! Oddly, wonderful over pasta!!! Yes, you read that right, its a super light sauce for pasta and with a bit of Pecorino Romano or Parmesan Cheese, its a quick perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISKAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Has a nice mellow flavour. I used fresh spinach and one cup of cream. Definately for spinach lovers. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States